Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

UK to Canada with Canadian common law partner

UK to Canada with Canadian common law partner

Old Jul 23rd 2018, 1:33 am
Just Joined

Dan909 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default UK to Canada with Canadian common law partner

Hi all, thanks in advance for any help rendered.

I'm a UK citizen, my girlfriend is Canadian, we have been together for 4.5 years and lived together for the last 3. The plan up until now has been to apply for spousal sponsorship, however the 12 month waiting time has come as a surprise due to my poor planning. As such I am looking for advice with the aim of attaining a shorter period of time for entry (I'm sure this is the dream of many here).

Another option seems to be EE, to that end I hold a BEng and finish my MSc in September both in engineering, however my financials aren't great so I believe this rules out EE.

Alternatively, could i potentially enter on a shorter term visa? With the aim of working whilst completing the spousal sponsorship in-house at a later date.

Finally, i could attempt to achieve a job offer, and so enter on a work permit correct?

​​​​​​Also, is anyone aware of any expat veterans groups? Prior to university I completed 7 years in the army, I figured I might be able to leverage that somehow as a number of friends have received job offers through these social circles. Worth a try I guess.

Thanks all

Dan
​​​​​
Old Jul 23rd 2018, 2:49 am
BE Forum Addict