Fact Finding Mission...

Old Nov 21st 2004, 3:50 pm
Forum Regular

grioghair is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Fact Finding Mission...

I am a legal resident of the USA (formerly of Britain) - my wife is a US citizen. We are considering either going to Canada to live and work, or becoming legal residents there.

What procedure do we follow in such a case? Does either one of us have to have employment before we arrive, and get sponsorship through our employment - as I have heard that you cannot apply for work permits outside of Canada. We do have another option, I have second cousins living in the Calgary area - although we are not considering moving to that part of Canada - so maybe we could get family sponsorship if it becomes necessary. (I am not sure about the possibility of cousins becoming sponsors, though - I have not seen that written anywhere.)

Also, if we decide on permanent residency in Canada, is there a residency requirement while the papaers are being processed?

Thanks,

Steve
Old Nov 21st 2004, 4:08 pm
JAJ
Retired

JAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Fact Finding Mission...

Originally Posted by grioghair
I am a legal resident of the USA (formerly of Britain) - my wife is a US citizen. We are considering either going to Canada to live and work, or becoming legal residents there.