Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

Common-law sponsorship -- questions!

Common-law sponsorship -- questions!

Old Dec 2nd 2008, 6:07 pm
Just Joined

canaus1 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Common-law sponsorship -- questions!

Hi, I just joined discovered this website and have had so many questions answered just by browsing through past posts! It is great!

I am just beginning the process. I am Canadian, living in London (England) with my Australian partner. He has lived in Canada in 2007 for one year on a working holiday visa, which is how we met. We have decided to move back to Canada together, hopefully within the next year but when I started to look through all these CIC forms, papers required, etc I started to panic! It is a lot and these are the questions I still have...if anyone can answer/shed light on any of them, that would be great!

1. Does my partner need a police check from Canada, as he lived there for a year. The thing is, on the CIC website when you click on the map for needing criminal checks from Canada, it says it is not necessary and RCMP will contact you if necessary.

2. Does anyone know of local police stations in SW London that do fingerprints...we need them for the Australian police check. And, the CIC website says to send police checks directly to the Canadian consulate in Sydney...but, am assuming this is only if you are living in Aus?? The UK docs say to send all police checks with your application.

3. The UK site (Canadian consulate) says to have medical done and send in with your application. But, when I read through all these posts on this site, people keep saying they get their medical forms later in the mail?? About this...when I click on the UK site for a list of medical practitioners, the site is down. Any one have any suggestions on how I can get this info bc I have called the consulate with no answers.