Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

CEC by working in Canada for UK based company

CEC by working in Canada for UK based company

Old Mar 29th 2017, 8:36 pm
Just Joined

j4335 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default CEC by working in Canada for UK based company

Hey, I'm currently in the process of moving to Toronto (on IEC) and told my boss in the UK that I will be leaving. I work as a software developer and I'm able to work remotely and my boss said that he wants me to continue working for them and has even offered to register a Canadian office so that it counts towards Canadian experience.

I however am a bit skeptical at whether just setting up a Canadian company and paying me through that would be enough especially if they see that I was working for the same company in the UK.

So my question is would I be able to apply for PR via the CEC if my currently employer just registered a Canadian office?
Old Mar 29th 2017, 10:44 pm
Lost in BE Cyberspace

Former Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond reputeFormer Lancastrian has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: CEC by working in Canada for UK based company

From the CIC website

To apply for permanent residence under the Canadian Experience Class, your skilled work experience must:

be in a job classified as skill type 0, or skill level A or B according to the 2011 National Occupational Classification,