Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada > Immigration & Citizenship (Canada)
Reload this Page >

*Newbie!* ... can someone please tell me if I need a job offer to emigrate?

*Newbie!* ... can someone please tell me if I need a job offer to emigrate?

Old Mar 25th 2015, 4:34 pm
Just Joined

Sarahjane88 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default *Newbie!* ... can someone please tell me if I need a job offer to emigrate?

Hi there,

This is my first post so please be kind

My name is Sarah-Jane, I'm a registered nurse with soon to be 12 months experience. I completed my training in Scotland. Me, my husband and our five year son would be hoping to move to Ontario, Canada in under 2 years. My husband's job is not recognised on the NOC so it will be my own merits that make us eligible to emigrate.

I have done a ton of research and seem to grasp the effort, time and money involved in emigrating to Canada - but I'm still a little confused in some areas. Today we had a meeting with a Canadian Immigration Consultant called Dennis Brazalot who seemed to know his stuff, however some of the information he gave me seemed to conflict with things I had read from the articles on this website and the CIC.

He has said that I didn't need a job offer to obtain my federal skilled worker permanent resident visa. He has scored us at 67 points for round 1 and approx 371-404 points for round two.

I was sure that according to the CIC website that we needed, at the very least, to have a job offer, a provincial nomination or have the highest points in order to get an invitation to apply. So I questioned him on this and he told me we would be charged a further £2600 by his company for arranging the Labour Market Impact Assessment and a temporary work visa. He also said that I would be expected to move over to Canada almost immediately at the employers request.