Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe > France
Reload this Page >

Regional accents around France?

Regional accents around France?

Old Apr 5th 2008, 4:32 pm
Just Joined

lozthewoz will become famous soon enough
Question Regional accents around France?

Where in France are the strongest regional accents and also the most neutral?

I studied French in Nice for a few weeks in 2006 and was told that it was fairly neutral there which is obviously what I want if I'm trying to learn the language, and that Marseille was very strong.

I'm planning a year out to travel around France and stop at a few different language schools. I was just wondering if anyone's come across accents or dialects that are just impossible to understand, and where are the best places to go for more neutral accents?

Thanks!
Lauren
Old Apr 5th 2008, 5:05 pm
BE Enthusiast

L'Acajou is a glorious beacon of lightL'Acajou is a glorious beacon of lightL'Acajou is a glorious beacon of lightL'Acajou is a glorious beacon of lightL'Acajou is a glorious beacon of lightL'Acajou is a glorious beacon of lightL'Acajou is a glorious beacon of lightL'Acajou is a glorious beacon of lightL'Acajou is a glorious beacon of lightL'Acajou is a glorious beacon of lightL'Acajou is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: Regional accents around France?

Hi

We live in dept 41, Loir-et-Cher, (North-West of the centre) which is usually regarded as the "purest" French.
Old Apr 5th 2008, 5:08 pm
BE Forum Addict

val50 has a reputation beyond reputeval50 has a reputation beyond reputeval50 has a reputation beyond reputeval50 has a reputation beyond reputeval50 has a reputation beyond reputeval50 has a reputation beyond reputeval50 has a reputation beyond reputeval50 has a reputation beyond reputeval50 has a reputation beyond reputeval50 has a reputation beyond reputeval50 has a reputation beyond repute

Find Brittany quite difficult - especially when they start speaking Breton

Originally Posted by lozthewoz