Newbie to Boulogne Billancourt

Newbie to Boulogne Billancourt

Old Jul 7th 2011, 11:28 am
Gog
Just Joined

Gog is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Newbie to Boulogne Billancourt

Hi all,

I've just accepted a job in Boulogne Billancourt (eastern side, on Quai Point du Jour). My family are staying in Devon and I will be based in Paris from Monday to Friday. Crazy, I know.

I am looking at short term accommodation, so I can explore before committing to anything long term. I found a couple of studios for around 900/month within walking distance of my office, around Avenue Edouard Vaillant, quite close to Porte de Saint Cloud. It's more than I want to pay, but I can afford it for three months as my employer is helping out. I wondered if people know if this is a reasonably safe area for a total newbie to Paris with (for the moment) zero French. I would have preferred to have been closer to Roland Garros/Bois de Bologne, but the prices were much more expensive and for the first few months I really only need a bed until I find my feet.

Any help or advice very welcome. I imagine I'll be asking lots of questions over the next few days/weeks/months/years.......

Old Jul 7th 2011, 2:19 pm
dmu
Lost in BE Cyberspace

dmu has a reputation beyond reputedmu has a reputation beyond reputedmu has a reputation beyond reputedmu has a reputation beyond reputedmu has a reputation beyond reputedmu has a reputation beyond reputedmu has a reputation beyond reputedmu has a reputation beyond reputedmu has a reputation beyond reputedmu has a reputation beyond reputedmu has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Newbie to Boulogne Billancourt

Hi, and welcome to the forum!
If you take a short-term rental within walking distance to your work, to tide you over at the start, you can look around for something cheaper, maybe further away on the Métro or a bus route, but NOT towards the 16ème!
Can't help re "safe" areas, you'd have to play it by ear when you're looking around....