Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Europe
Reload this Page >

should i move to London?????

should i move to London?????

Old Jul 19th 2012, 6:25 pm
Just Joined

fayee28 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default should i move to London?????

im a 26 year old female, living in south africa but would love to move to the UK. I feel that im stuck in a dead end job and need some change in my life.

i have a degree in Marketing, don't know if that will help in finding a job. i have a british passport so atleast i dnt have to worry about getting a visa.

can anyone give me some advice on the best thing to do, is moving to the uk a good idea? i don't have much saved up either
Old Jul 20th 2012, 8:51 am
Just Joined

Zenettii is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: should i move to London?????

The realistic grounding
Although there are plenty of jobs out there in London, there is lots of competition for them. I work in the recruitment industry and get an idea on how many people apply for jobs. Also with banks like HSBC which are making people redundant all over the show (Hemel call centre has 400 people, and it closes down in 2013 for example) you'll be up against alot of people in consultancy and marketing industry.
You'll be lucky to find a tiny apartment to rent at less than £1000 p/m in the London/greater London area, plus add a travel cost of £1000 or more for getting to work.

The fun

If you like noise, the party life style and getting out and about, then London can be a lot of fun. There is always something to do, although most of it costs money. London is generally a filled with young "hip" people who feel life is all about being loud and social.

You