Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Electricians
Reload this Page >

TRA Reference Help (Electrical )(Apologies for double post!)

TRA Reference Help (Electrical )(Apologies for double post!)

Old Sep 11th 2008, 2:40 pm
Forum Regular

sparkatrician is an unknown quantity at this point
Default TRA Reference Help (Electrical )(Apologies for double post!)

Apologies to Admin I posted in the wrong forum earler, feel free to chop my earlier post!

Hi all!, I'm new here so be gentle! :-D

I appplied for my PR back in 2006 and had it granted Sept 07

I have visited Australia Dec 2007 to Jan2008 so my visa is validated.

Due to my qualifications my original application was made as a Electrical Engineering Technologist therefore I'd didn't go down the TRA route.

I am however a timeserved qualified spark and hold the following quals

SVQ Level 3 Electrical Installation Buildings and Structure
C+G 2381 (16th Edition)
C+G 2391 (Inspect and Test)
C+G 2440 (Design and Verification)
ONC Electrical Engineering
HNC Electrical Engineering

I'm hopng to apply for Trades Recognition as an Electrical Mechanic. I'm in the process of filling out the form and I've spoken to my boss and he says he's happy to let me write my own reference (he can't be arsed!!!). :-D

I'm just wondering if anyone can give me any guidance as to how indepth the reference needs to be???

Should I make it generic or am I better giving specific examples of what I have done ie Install 160A TPN Distribution board etc, etc with the materials and type of stuff used?

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated as he TRA thing is the final piece of the jigsaw for me!

I sooo need to get ths right and get my Trade Certificate first time on applying! :-S

I should also explain that I work as a Maintenace Spark, would I be better sticking to the installation side of my job (of which there is quite a lot).