Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Electricians
Reload this Page >

Restricted electrical licence?

Restricted electrical licence?

Old Aug 16th 2008, 8:25 am
Just Joined

Fitterjo is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Restricted electrical licence?

Hi everyone I’m new on here and posted a similar thread elsewhere.

Just wondered if anyone new the quickest way to get a restricted electrical licence?

I am heading for Brisbane/Gold coast area and have done research about the REL in Queensland at the TAFE collage and basically you need a job and be sponsored by your employer before you can enrol. I would like to get the licence ASAP. I am just trying to maximise my chances of getting a decent job when I get to Oz.
I don’t mind going to collage or another state to get a REL.
I am a maintenance fitter with a permanent visa.
I have a ARTC mechanical fitter
I have a electrical HNC
I have placed a post on this site but because the rules are different for each state and it’s very confusing.

Thank you in advance for your help.
Old Aug 16th 2008, 9:23 am
Forum Regular

andywilson19 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Restricted electrical licence?

quickest is to do wiring regs course at peer in adelaide by corresponance then fly down to take exam http://www.peer.com.au

Andy
Old Aug 18th 2008, 11:58 am
Forum Regular

leeob77 is just really niceleeob77 is just really niceleeob77 is just really niceleeob77 is just really niceleeob77 is just really niceleeob77 is just really niceleeob77 is just really niceleeob77 is just really nice

someone with a bit more experience than me might correct me but sure you will need an artc in an electrical trade first? noticed you said yours was a mechanical artc.
this may be a stumbling block because you havent done an apprenticeship in an electrical trade? will have a look for you and see if i can dig up any info.