Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Electricians
Reload this Page >

Qualifying to work in QLD or WA

Qualifying to work in QLD or WA

Old Dec 29th 2010, 6:49 pm
Just Joined

L e e is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Qualifying to work in QLD or WA

Hi, i'm a qualified electrician in the UK looking to move to Queensland or Perth. I understand that the qualifications i've earned here are not transferable. Is it possible to gain an QLD or WA Electrical Licence from the UK, or will i have to get over to my chosen state and do it all over there?

I started an apprenticeship over here in 2004 and managed to get everything signed off in september '09. This means that despite passing other exams and courses related to the job, i've technically only been fully qualified for a year and a half. Does this mean i can only say that i've got a year and a half's experience or can i include the whole apprenticeship and say that i have 6 years experience?

We'll probably move to Perth, as i have a load of mates and family there. If it's not possible to gain the WA A Grade Electrical Licence before moving over there, then is it possible to work as a trainee or improver over there until i get the licence?

Once over there, what's the first step to take to get the ball rolling? It's likely that my wife will get work first as she's a teacher, so we can move there and i can concentrate on getting the licencing done.

Is it easier to gain a QLD Licence or WA Licence and are they transferable? How long is it likely to take and how much money is it likely to cost?

I realise that this stuff has all been covered on here, but a lot of the posts are a few years old and have conflicting information.

Thanks very much in advance...
Old Dec 29th 2010, 11:13 pm
BE Enthusiast

Location: Was a Londoner in Edinburgh... was a Jockney, now in Brisbane....I'm an ocker cockney