The process of migration.

Old Feb 4th 2008, 7:28 pm
Just Joined

iJim is an unknown quantity at this point
Smile The process of migration.

Hello!

My apologies (noob) as this probably has been done a thousand times!

Just a couple of quick questions. (I've done some searching)

I am a time served indentured electrician (usual stuff - domestic, commercial, industrial, maintance etc...) and I'm looking to emigrate to Cairns area. I'd just like to get a few things straight i.e the correct process in the right order?!

1)Do I apply for a visa first or/and
2)Goto/apply with Vettasses or/and
3)Contact ARTC to get my quals transfered to Aus equivelents or/and
4)Get a medical or/and
5)Police checks and ?

I realise I need an Australian address for paper work to be sent too, I have this one covered (Aunt and Uncle )

As far as I can see, (limited noob research) once I have fulfilled all of the above quotas etc in the correct order I will be able to go?! On arrival, get accomodation and then apply for licences; Class E I belive is an "easier" one to obtain?!?

One final thing (so far...) am I right in thinking it is harder to obtain/qualify for a skilled electrician if you are or have been self employed? I am currently employed but I am strongly leaning towards going self employed again!!

Sorry to be a pain but I havent found anything clear on the whole subject!

Thanks in advance for any help!

iJim
Old Feb 4th 2008, 7:33 pm
Lost in BE Cyberspace

Wendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond reputeWendy has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: The process of migration.

Originally Posted by iJim
Hello!