British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Electricians (https://britishexpats.com/forum/electricians-97/)
-   -   The process of migration. (https://britishexpats.com/forum/electricians-97/process-migration-511733/)

iJim Feb 4th 2008 7:28 pm

The process of migration.

Hello!

My apologies (noob) as this probably has been done a thousand times! :p

Just a couple of quick questions. (I've done some searching) :)

I am a time served indentured electrician (usual stuff - domestic, commercial, industrial, maintance etc...) and I'm looking to emigrate to Cairns area. I'd just like to get a few things straight i.e the correct process in the right order?!

1)Do I apply for a visa first or/and
2)Goto/apply with Vettasses or/and
3)Contact ARTC to get my quals transfered to Aus equivelents or/and
4)Get a medical or/and
5)Police checks and ?

I realise I need an Australian address for paper work to be sent too, I have this one covered (Aunt and Uncle :thumbsup:)

As far as I can see, (limited noob research) once I have fulfilled all of the above quotas etc in the correct order I will be able to go?! On arrival, get accomodation and then apply for licences; Class E I belive is an "easier" one to obtain?!?

One final thing (so far...) am I right in thinking it is harder to obtain/qualify for a skilled electrician if you are or have been self employed? I am currently employed but I am strongly leaning towards going self employed again!!

Sorry to be a pain but I havent found anything clear on the whole subject! :confused:

Thanks in advance for any help! :D

iJim

Wendy Feb 4th 2008 7:33 pm

Re: The process of migration.

Originally Posted by iJim (Post 5884163)
Hello!

My apologies (noob) as this probably has been done a thousand times! :p

Just a couple of quick questions. (I've done some searching) :)