Returning to the UK with my Japanese wife

Old Jan 7th 2014, 11:21 am
Just Joined

sj33 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Returning to the UK with my Japanese wife

Hey all,

I'm a new member here, posting here to ask for a little bit of advice. This whole thing seems to complicated.

My wife and myself married on Christmas Eve, and are now making long-term plans. I am currently a student studying a master's degree in Japan, a 2 year course. I understand Japanese as it was my undergraduate degree. I graduate in September, and we are looking at the best place to settle down.

Our situation is somewhat complicated. My wife doesn't speak much English. She had the same high school English classes as everybody else, but we communicate with each other in Japanese. Indeed, if she were to come to the UK she would attend an English language tuition course. She also did not attend university (not so uncommon in Japan), though I myself am a master's student.

Obviously I am looking for a post-graduation job right now. I am doing jobhunting in Japan, but this is obviously easier for myself in the UK (as a British national and native English speaker). I do actually have a job in the UK working for Asda on night shift - I'm on extended leave at the moment, but will be able to return to it if I come back to the UK.

The issues (as I understand them) appear to be the language requirement, and financial requirement. The former I have explained above. The latter, as I say I do have a job but I am unsure if it meets the threshold. I do intend to get a better job, but being a student I obviously can't do that until I have graduated from my master's degree and am back in the UK.