Work permits: Scam or legit?
#1
Thread Starter
Just Joined
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 5

Has anyone used this service?
http://www.workpermit.com/canada/wor...y/uk_citizens/
Is it for real or just a way to sell you "information"?
http://www.workpermit.com/canada/wor...y/uk_citizens/
Is it for real or just a way to sell you "information"?
#2
Originally Posted by calwich
Has anyone used this service?
http://www.workpermit.com/canada/wor...y/uk_citizens/
Is it for real or just a way to sell you "information"?
http://www.workpermit.com/canada/wor...y/uk_citizens/
Is it for real or just a way to sell you "information"?
www.bunac.org
Last time I checked the idea was that you got given money to do a job, not that you gave money to get a job. Maybe I missed the point???
Last edited by iaink; Feb 2nd 2005 at 1:11 pm.
#3
BE Enthusiast





Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 998
From: London Ontario








Originally Posted by calwich
Has anyone used this service?
http://www.workpermit.com/canada/wor...y/uk_citizens/
Is it for real or just a way to sell you "information"?
http://www.workpermit.com/canada/wor...y/uk_citizens/
Is it for real or just a way to sell you "information"?
#4
Originally Posted by iaink
Isnt that basically the BUNAC program, but with a £50 fee???
www.bunac.org
Last time I checked the idea was that you got given money to do a job, not that you gave money to get a job. Maybe I missed the point???
www.bunac.org
Last time I checked the idea was that you got given money to do a job, not that you gave money to get a job. Maybe I missed the point???
#5
BE Enthusiast





Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 998
From: London Ontario








Originally Posted by Covenant
Nicely caught Iain!. Yet another scam to con desperate people.
If so why would anybody pay a fee for any assistance on form filling and application help.
It is an agreed point widely accepted that there are cases where third parties provide a usful service.
I have never heard of BANUC and would think it was a scam from this side of the pond. Depends on your perspective.
#6
Originally Posted by SANDRAPAUL
One thought. If you run a business based on supplying information which is re-packaged possibly to another market would you do it for free?
If so why would anybody pay a fee for any assistance on form filling and application help.
It is an agreed point widely accepted that there are cases where third parties provide a usful service.
I have never heard of BANUC and would think it was a scam from this side of the pond. Depends on your perspective.
If so why would anybody pay a fee for any assistance on form filling and application help.
It is an agreed point widely accepted that there are cases where third parties provide a usful service.
I have never heard of BANUC and would think it was a scam from this side of the pond. Depends on your perspective.
#7
BE Enthusiast





Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 998
From: London Ontario








Originally Posted by Covenant
fair point Sandra, but looking at the wording of the advert, I believe that there is some element of deception in the offer.
#8
Originally Posted by SANDRAPAUL
Its called buyer beware. Do your research. Take your pick but the word scam is often too widely used and defamatory without warrant sometimes.
I stand by my assertion that this is a type of scam.
#9
BE Enthusiast





Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 998
From: London Ontario








Originally Posted by Covenant
There is also legislation to protect the public from misleading adverts.
I stand by my assertion that this is a type of scam.
I stand by my assertion that this is a type of scam.
They have said the info is not readily available or promoted so they have produced their own package...yes no?
What do you want for £50? Buying or selling.
#10
Originally Posted by SANDRAPAUL
Just due to curiosity highlight the scam element for educational puposes for everybody...
They have said the info is not readily available or promoted so they have produced their own package...yes no?
What do you want for £50? Buying or selling.
They have said the info is not readily available or promoted so they have produced their own package...yes no?
What do you want for £50? Buying or selling.
I do accept your point, however, that it is fair for companies to provide the type of service that you describe.
May I ask, what your interest is in this company?
Last edited by Covenant; Feb 2nd 2005 at 10:46 pm.
#11
BE Enthusiast





Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 998
From: London Ontario








Originally Posted by Covenant
As you said, they have said the information is not readily available yet it is, as Iain found with www.bunac.org.
May I ask, what your interest is in this company?
May I ask, what your interest is in this company?
Now if you were to take a £1,000 on the basis of producing a certificate that allows entrance into another country and at point of entry it transpires to be false it is then a scam.
Yes/No
Interest - I do not like people downed unless based on facts.
#12
Originally Posted by SANDRAPAUL
Going round in circles. I have never heard of Banuc and many would not have. Its a bit like a link from one web site to another. Links are chargeable in certain cases as it puts a in touch with C by B for a fee. It is called a service. Basic business policies.
Now if you were to take a £1,000 on the basis of producing a certificate that allows entrance into another country and at point of entry it transpires to be false it is then a scam.
Yes/No
Interest - I do not like people downed unless based on facts.
Now if you were to take a £1,000 on the basis of producing a certificate that allows entrance into another country and at point of entry it transpires to be false it is then a scam.
Yes/No
Interest - I do not like people downed unless based on facts.
I am wary of any company that appears to offer a service which make its appear that it alone is privy to. My conception verses yours. both correct in their own way.
#13
BE Enthusiast





Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 998
From: London Ontario








Originally Posted by Covenant
point taken, and accepted. Banuc was highlighted on this forums some time back, and I should imagine that a search on google etc, would uncover this company as well as others.
I am wary of any company that appears to offer a service which make its appear that it alone is privy to. My conception verses yours. both correct in their own way.
I am wary of any company that appears to offer a service which make its appear that it alone is privy to. My conception verses yours. both correct in their own way.
Have a good one
#14
Originally Posted by SANDRAPAUL
Agreed. Nice for a change.
Have a good one
Have a good one
time to go out and enjoy the rare uK sunshine methinks! take care.
#15
BE Enthusiast





Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 998
From: London Ontario








Originally Posted by Covenant
Lol, I'll have to be a bit more careful in my posting Miss SandraPaul!
time to go out and enjoy the rare uK sunshine methinks! take care.
time to go out and enjoy the rare uK sunshine methinks! take care.
What UK sunshine?



