Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

What to do at the start of my IEC if I haven't secured a job!

What to do at the start of my IEC if I haven't secured a job!

Old Jan 6th 2014, 10:14 pm
Just Joined

Wafflelord is an unknown quantity at this point
Default What to do at the start of my IEC if I haven't secured a job!

Hi all!

I've got myself a conditional offer for this year's IEC. I just need to wait for the rest to process in order to get my work permit, and I want to head over to Canada sooner rather than later!

I was wondering if anyone knows of any good schemes or groups to get involved with to occupy myself while I try and sort out a more long term Job + Accommodation.

I work in the video games industry as a designer and i'm starting to look for suitable positions over there now. But these can be hard to come by so I'd like to have something else lined up if I haven't secured a job by the time my point of entry letter comes through. I'll at least have a plan to head over there and do something! Even if it's volunteering or temp work as long as I've got something sorted I'll be happy and i can carry on the hunt for a game design job while i'm doing that!

I'm mainly interested in moving to Vancouver, Montreal or Toronto eventually (as I've heard they're hot spots for the industry). But I'd be happy to live in surrounding area while I look for jobs.

Any Help or suggestions about where to look for temp work or volunteering schemes (is there anything in place suitable for people coming over for IEC that helps with temp work and or setting up accommodation?) would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks a lot!

Last edited by Wafflelord; Jan 6th 2014 at 10:28 pm.
Old Jan 6th 2014, 10:23 pm
Just Joined

Default Re: What to do at the start of my ICE if I haven't secured a job!

Obviously i mean I "IEC" not ICE, haha! If someone's able to fix it for me that would be grand
Old Jan 8th 2014, 7:01 pm
Born again atheist