Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

Voltage convertor for selected items

Voltage convertor for selected items

Old Oct 18th 2013, 7:49 am
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 163
Muskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond repute
Default Voltage convertor for selected items

Hi

All being well, I'm finally moving back to my home town (been away since a child, except for multiple visits)

There's just a few electric bits I would particularly like to take. Wondering if anyone can suggest a voltage converter - maybe one that would cover all the electrics I want to take, which are: sewing machine, good quality laser printer, food processor & don't laugh, my wii.

Ok, I'm eccentric I realise that, but I'm going to have to utilise a whole 20' container, so may as well throw these bits in which I would like to have provided I can get a safe voltage converter. Any ideas please? All these items are things I would not be leaving unattended, so figure it would be safe.

P.S. Have to say I am terrified of this move. God forbid I can't make it work
Muskoka is offline  
Old Oct 18th 2013, 7:57 am
  #2  
Concierge
 
mikelincs's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: ex ex-pat, in Taunton
Posts: 25,647
mikelincs has a reputation beyond reputemikelincs has a reputation beyond reputemikelincs has a reputation beyond reputemikelincs has a reputation beyond reputemikelincs has a reputation beyond reputemikelincs has a reputation beyond reputemikelincs has a reputation beyond reputemikelincs has a reputation beyond reputemikelincs has a reputation beyond reputemikelincs has a reputation beyond reputemikelincs has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Voltage convertor for selected items

Originally Posted by Muskoka View Post
Hi

All being well, I'm finally moving back to my home town (been away since a child, except for multiple visits)

There's just a few electric bits I would particularly like to take. Wondering if anyone can suggest a voltage converter - maybe one that would cover all the electrics I want to take, which are: sewing machine, good quality laser printer, food processor & don't laugh, my wii.

Ok, I'm eccentric I realise that, but I'm going to have to utilise a whole 20' container, so may as well throw these bits in which I would like to have provided I can get a safe voltage converter. Any ideas please? All these items are things I would not be leaving unattended, so figure it would be safe.

P.S. Have to say I am terrified of this move. God forbid I can't make it work
You moving from Canada to UK or vice versa?
mikelincs is offline  
Old Oct 18th 2013, 9:18 am
  #3  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 163
Muskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Voltage convertor for selected items

Ha - sorry. Uk - Ontario
Muskoka is offline  
Old Oct 18th 2013, 9:20 am
  #4  
Dichotomus tinker
 
not2old's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,659
not2old has a reputation beyond reputenot2old has a reputation beyond reputenot2old has a reputation beyond reputenot2old has a reputation beyond reputenot2old has a reputation beyond reputenot2old has a reputation beyond reputenot2old has a reputation beyond reputenot2old has a reputation beyond reputenot2old has a reputation beyond reputenot2old has a reputation beyond reputenot2old has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Voltage convertor for selected items

if you are moving back to the UK - the recommended suggestion is to buy the adapter over in the UK, buy one of the smaller adapters for each of the items you are taking back, ready to go small compact plugs already on & any issues or hassles with the adapters, you can deal with it there

http://www.ryness.co.uk/110v-step-down-transformers

http://www.cordsncables.co.uk/acatal...rs_to_UK_.html[/QUOTE]
not2old is offline  
Old Oct 18th 2013, 9:24 am
  #5  
Concierge
 
mikelincs's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: ex ex-pat, in Taunton
Posts: 25,647
mikelincs has a reputation beyond reputemikelincs has a reputation beyond reputemikelincs has a reputation beyond reputemikelincs has a reputation beyond reputemikelincs has a reputation beyond reputemikelincs has a reputation beyond reputemikelincs has a reputation beyond reputemikelincs has a reputation beyond reputemikelincs has a reputation beyond reputemikelincs has a reputation beyond reputemikelincs has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Voltage convertor for selected items

Originally Posted by not2old View Post
if you are moving back to the UK - the recommended suggestion is to buy the adapter over in the UK, buy one of the smaller adapters for each of the items you are taking back, ready to go small compact plugs already on & any issues or hassles with the adapters, you can deal with it there

http://www.ryness.co.uk/110v-step-down-transformers

http://www.cordsncables.co.uk/acatal...rs_to_UK_.html
[/QUOTE]

He's moving the opposite way..
mikelincs is offline  
Old Oct 18th 2013, 10:38 am
  #6  
Dichotomus tinker
 
not2old's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,659
not2old has a reputation beyond reputenot2old has a reputation beyond reputenot2old has a reputation beyond reputenot2old has a reputation beyond reputenot2old has a reputation beyond reputenot2old has a reputation beyond reputenot2old has a reputation beyond reputenot2old has a reputation beyond reputenot2old has a reputation beyond reputenot2old has a reputation beyond reputenot2old has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Voltage convertor for selected items

He's moving the opposite way..[/QUOTE]


time stamp on the post Mike - I was composing the post while the OP posted above me

http://britishexpats.com/forum/showthread.php?t=737614

http://www.voltageconverters.ca/

http://www.shopbot.ca/step-down-tran.../canada/163703
not2old is offline  
Old Oct 18th 2013, 10:51 am
  #7  
forever blowing bubbles
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: cambridge ontario
Posts: 343
arniedog has much to be proud ofarniedog has much to be proud ofarniedog has much to be proud ofarniedog has much to be proud ofarniedog has much to be proud ofarniedog has much to be proud ofarniedog has much to be proud ofarniedog has much to be proud ofarniedog has much to be proud ofarniedog has much to be proud ofarniedog has much to be proud of
Cool Re: Voltage convertor for selected items

we got ours from voltage converters, it runs a wii,tv,video and dvd. think it cost $150
arniedog is offline  
Old Oct 18th 2013, 11:17 am
  #8  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 163
Muskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Voltage convertor for selected items

I'm a she. Moving back to 'bear country'...all being well. A UK tv won't work over there though will it????? surely.....? thanks for the info on the converter tho
Muskoka is offline  
Old Oct 18th 2013, 12:45 pm
  #9  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Aug 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 178
Martin the cdn expat has much to be proud ofMartin the cdn expat has much to be proud ofMartin the cdn expat has much to be proud ofMartin the cdn expat has much to be proud ofMartin the cdn expat has much to be proud ofMartin the cdn expat has much to be proud ofMartin the cdn expat has much to be proud ofMartin the cdn expat has much to be proud ofMartin the cdn expat has much to be proud ofMartin the cdn expat has much to be proud ofMartin the cdn expat has much to be proud of
Default Re: Voltage convertor for selected items

Originally Posted by Muskoka View Post
I'm a she. Moving back to 'bear country'...all being well. A UK tv won't work over there though will it????? surely.....? thanks for the info on the converter tho
Most newer electronics now have self regulating 220/110 converters.

Laptop / cellphone / tablet. My computer even has a switch on the power supply. Just needs an adapter.

Your printer and wii may not need, but you have to check the power supply unit. Same with the tv.
Martin the cdn expat is offline  
Old Oct 18th 2013, 1:13 pm
  #10  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 163
Muskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Voltage convertor for selected items

Originally Posted by Martin the cdn expat View Post
Most newer electronics now have self regulating 220/110 converters.

Laptop / cellphone / tablet. My computer even has a switch on the power supply. Just needs an adapter.

Your printer and wii may not need, but you have to check the power supply unit. Same with the tv.
Flaming heck. Will do. Will be most happy if I can take my stuff cos its mostly high end and no more than a couple of years old. Will check it out - thank you Thought there was something with the 'hertz on tv '? tho thats different over there?
Muskoka is offline  
Old Oct 18th 2013, 1:32 pm
  #11  
Part Time Poster
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: Worcestershire
Posts: 4,219
MikeUK has a reputation beyond reputeMikeUK has a reputation beyond reputeMikeUK has a reputation beyond reputeMikeUK has a reputation beyond reputeMikeUK has a reputation beyond reputeMikeUK has a reputation beyond reputeMikeUK has a reputation beyond reputeMikeUK has a reputation beyond reputeMikeUK has a reputation beyond reputeMikeUK has a reputation beyond reputeMikeUK has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Voltage convertor for selected items

Originally Posted by Muskoka View Post
Flaming heck. Will do. Will be most happy if I can take my stuff cos its mostly high end and no more than a couple of years old. Will check it out - thank you Thought there was something with the 'hertz on tv '? tho thats different over there?
Hz on modern HDMI fed TV is mainly BS...
Ignore coments on PAL and NTSC or 50/60hz

Both ATSC and DVB require comon MPEG2 and MPEG4 data formats

The aerial won't work, but the other inputs will likely work if fed from a HD source

Time to read the manual
MikeUK is offline  
Old Oct 18th 2013, 1:45 pm
  #12  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 163
Muskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond reputeMuskoka has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Voltage convertor for selected items

Originally Posted by MikeUK View Post
Hz on modern HDMI fed TV is mainly BS...
Ignore coments on PAL and NTSC or 50/60hz

Both ATSC and DVB require comon MPEG2 and MPEG4 data formats

The aerial won't work, but the other inputs will likely work if fed from a HD source

Time to read the manual

Read the manual. Ya, that'll be a first! Thanks
Muskoka is offline  
Old Oct 18th 2013, 1:55 pm
  #13  
Account Closed
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,063
Dave n Ailsa is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Voltage convertor for selected items

We bought a couple of good voltage convertors as soon as we got here from http://www.voltageconverters.ca/

You can choose the wattage you need. The higher the wattage the more the cost. Things with heat and motors require much higher wattage, like hair dryers or food mixers, so bare that in mind.

I eventually wired up a 220 supply in my basement to run all my UK PC's, moniters and Xbox's etc, and even a small heat press. It cost 30 dollars for the breaker switch and another 30 for some wire.
Dave n Ailsa is offline  
Old Oct 19th 2013, 11:02 am
  #14  
BE user by choice
 
MillieF's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Location: A Briton, married to a Canadian, now in Fredericton.
Posts: 4,854
MillieF has a reputation beyond reputeMillieF has a reputation beyond reputeMillieF has a reputation beyond reputeMillieF has a reputation beyond reputeMillieF has a reputation beyond reputeMillieF has a reputation beyond reputeMillieF has a reputation beyond reputeMillieF has a reputation beyond reputeMillieF has a reputation beyond reputeMillieF has a reputation beyond reputeMillieF has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Voltage convertor for selected items

Originally Posted by Dave n Ailsa View Post
We bought a couple of good voltage convertors as soon as we got here from http://www.voltageconverters.ca/

I eventually wired up a 220 supply in my basement to run all my UK PC's, moniters and Xbox's etc, and even a small heat press. It cost 30 dollars for the breaker switch and another 30 for some wire.
Could you explain how a bit more please?

I am amazed by what does work here (the shipper arrived early, so lots that shouldn't have come, came) my husband's compressor, arc welder and all sorts work perfectly.

The only thing that we have that won't sem to work, is a really super looking CD player, it wasn't expensive, but is a really nice looking unit....and I have two of them, but even with the converter, it won't play

Last edited by MillieF; Oct 19th 2013 at 11:02 am. Reason: Typo
MillieF is offline  
Old Oct 19th 2013, 2:24 pm
  #15  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Sep 2013
Posts: 62
Island Bound is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Voltage convertor for selected items

Might be worth checking...but sure I read somewhere it will invalidate your insurance, ie if you have a fire in your house and the insurers find out you had converters they will not pay out.
Not sure how true this all is, but one of the reasons we did not bring electrical stuff over.

Anyone who can confirm if this info is true or not...?
Island Bound is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.