Tax Worry !

Old Jul 1st 2012, 3:03 am
Just Joined

britmick22 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Tax Worry !

I’m a Brit resident and Citizen working as a freelancer in the offshore industry, normally working 6-8 months outside UK on board a variety of survey vessels.

I have a son in NL Canada, whom I visit several times a year at 3-6 week durations. I own a house in NL, have a car registered in my name and Canadian bank account.I managed to open the Canadian bank account and register a vehicle in my name in 2005, after applying for a one year work permit to start a business in NL with the intention of becoming a resident but the business failed, I gave up the visa and returned to my offshore career in 2006.

On a visit to NL recently I had a visit by a tax inspector, who informed me they would like to assess me for Canadian tax since I purchased the property in 2002.
My status on entry to Canada is visitor, immigration have informed me that my stay must never be more than six months, which works for me as I work long rotations offshore.I Divide my time off between my home in UK and visiting my son in Canada.
Does the Canadian tax authorities have the right/jurisdiction to question me regarding my world income as my status in Canada is Visitor?

Any information would be appreciated.

Thanks
Mick
Old Jul 1st 2012, 3:25 am
x 0 x

JB0591 will become famous soon enoughJB0591 will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Tax Worry !

I am no tax expert but it is all to do with establishing residency ties in Canada.

The following is taken from the CRA website:

Under Canada's tax system, your liability for income tax in Canada is based on your status as a resident or non-resident of Canada. Your residence status must be established before your tax liability to Canada can be determined.