Sue Ottawa?

Old Oct 23rd 2003, 1:35 pm
Loving it here!

ClareBC is a splendid one to beholdClareBC is a splendid one to beholdClareBC is a splendid one to beholdClareBC is a splendid one to beholdClareBC is a splendid one to beholdClareBC is a splendid one to beholdClareBC is a splendid one to beholdClareBC is a splendid one to beholdClareBC is a splendid one to beholdClareBC is a splendid one to beholdClareBC is a splendid one to behold
Default Sue Ottawa?

Article from the Edmonton Journal ...

Immigrants sue Ottawa, citing 'shattered lives'
Landmark lawsuit says gov't misled them on job picture

Jessica Leeder
The Edmonton Journal

Wednesday, October 22, 2003

By trade, Selladurai Premakumaran is a professional number cruncher.

Since he immigrated to Canada in 1998, he's done nothing but calculations. Mostly, the U.K.-schooled accountant has been trying to figure out how to recover the $60,000 it cost his family to relocate, how to pay off a $100,000 credit-card debt, why his two professional degrees can't get him a job and how a growing family of six can survive in a two-bedroom apartment.

The courts, he hopes, will have his answer.

Premakumaran -- Prem -- and his wife Nesamalar have launched a $225,000 lawsuit against the federal government, alleging they were misled by Canadian immigration officials who assured them they'd have no trouble finding professional jobs to support their family in Canada.

The lawsuit is likely one of the first of its kind, says a University of Toronto law professor.

The couple -- Prem is a native of Sri Lanka and Nesa is from Malaysia -- spent 22 years in Britain before learning that their fluency in English, along with their education and professional credentials, made them eligible to live and work in Canada.