Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

Police Records

Police Records

Old Jul 24th 2002, 10:27 pm
Just Joined

Splendid is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Police Records

I have just received my police records in the UK. I am a UK resident. I had convictions for petty theft when i was 16 & 17 but the document states that there is no information held about me in the person Record category. Does that mean i have a clean record. If it does not is there any way that the CIC can find out about these convictions? As they are so long ago ( i am 36 now) is it worth mentioning them. If this document states that there is no information held about me, does the UK police force hold further information that we dont know about.
Old Jul 25th 2002, 4:20 am
Pmm

Default Re: Police Records

Hi Splendid

"Splendid" <[email protected]> wrote in message
news:[email protected]...
    > I have just received my police records in the UK. I am a UK resident. I had
    > convictions for petty theft when i was 16 & 17 but the document states that there
    > is no information held about me in the person Record category. Does that mean i
    > have a clean record. If it does not is there any way that the CIC can find out
    > about these convictions? As they are so long ago ( i am 36 now) is it worth
    > mentioning them. If this document states that there is no information held about
    > me, does the UK police force hold further information that we dont know about.

You pretty well have to mention it. If you answer the question "have you ever been
convicted of a crime or offence" No, then you are digging yourself a very deep hole.
The lie on the application might come back to haunt you. The offences were when you
were a juvenile and since they were over 10 years ago and probably equate to a
summary offence in Canada. Under IRPA you would have been considered rehabilitated