Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

Nervous Brit with job offer to Vancouver, BC- Advice and friends needed. x

Nervous Brit with job offer to Vancouver, BC- Advice and friends needed. x

Old Feb 10th 2008, 11:09 am
Just Joined

bexjade is an unknown quantity at this point
Red face Nervous Brit with job offer to Vancouver, BC- Advice and friends needed. x

Hi guys, i am completely new to all this and a little nervous if i must say so let me thank you in advance for any help and guidance given.. x

My partner and i are based in the West Midlands, Uk and seeing as my Partner is a senior roofer of 8 years, he as just been offered a 2 year work permit and guarenteed perm residency after that in Vancouver, BC which is great, and after attending a seminar in York next weekend we will know more: V serious about doing this however, big life style cange, means selling the house and leaving a very close knit of family and friends which i am sure that most people in this situation are in leaving loved ones behind etc...

So i have been putting my feelers out there, looking at these forums, researching life styles and cost of liiving etc.. and wondered if anyone had any advice??
His job is based in burnaby but apparently we can live anywhere close by, really would like some advice on nice areas/suburbs, after being put up in a hotel for a month we would look at renting a fully furnished place does anyone have any refrences for good property estate agents??

Also utilities??? What do you have to pay on top of rent is it like the uk? (maybe a dumb question but need to ask?!?)
So water, gas & electric, council tax, tv licence etc????? x