Reload this Page >

Moving to Canada as a Paramedic

Moving to Canada as a Paramedic

Old Feb 24th 2021, 11:36 am
Just Joined

MCPARA is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Moving to Canada as a Paramedic

Hi All,
I am really interested in moving to Canada, BC in particular , with my young family. I am currently employed in the UK as an Urgent Care Practitioner for an out of hours GP led Primary Care service, having been qualified as a paramedic for 10 years. I have extensive experience in a variety of clinical roles in both London and Birmingham in the UK. I am degree educated and now currently studying a Masters Degree in Advanced Clinical Practice and expect to graduate in 3 years. This will make me a prescribing clinican with other "advanced skills".
I was wondering if there are any roles in Canada which involve pafamedics working in primary or community care? If not, I'd happily work in more "mainstream" roles (I guess that's what you'd call them!).
Also, is the transition and transfer of skills an easy thing to do over there?
Thanks for any replies,
Old Feb 24th 2021, 11:39 am
SUPER MODERATOR

christmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Moving to Canada as a Paramedic

Hi, and welcome to BE.

You will need to jump through a few hoops to be able to work as a paramedic in Canada, if you search the forum you'll find more info, here's one previous thread to get you started - Becoming a Paramedic in Canada

For any questions on visa eligibility, head to the immi section of the forum.

HTH, best of luck.