Does Canada tell England?

Does Canada tell England?

Old Mar 26th 2004, 2:16 pm
tjo
Just Joined

tjo is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Does Canada tell England?

Hi everyone,
I emigrated from the UK to Canada in Jan 2002, and now I am a fully fledged Permanent Resident here. Then the other day a letter arrived at my parent's home in England from the Inland Revenue, asking about my contributions to my state pension. Obviously they noticed I haven't been working since I emigrated.

Well, I'm a young fella, so I haven't contributed long enough to ever hope of seeing a pension from the UK being mailed over to Canada when I'm old and wrinkly, but it did make me wonder:
when I immigrated, did Canada TELL the UK that I'm over here now? Is that my responsibility to inform the British gov, Inland Rev...etc. that I'm no longer resident in Blighty? I mean, I don't want to renounce my British citizenship or anything, I was just curious if anyone else has ever tried letting them know before...

Any help or thoughts on the matter is greatly appreciated!

Cheers,
Toby
Old Mar 26th 2004, 2:50 pm
ModerĪ±tor Emeritus

iaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond reputeiaink has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Does Canada tell England?

Originally posted by tjo
Hi everyone,
I emigrated from the UK to Canada in Jan 2002, and now I am a fully fledged Permanent Resident here. Then the other day a letter arrived at my parent's home in England from the Inland Revenue, asking about my contributions to my state pension. Obviously they noticed I haven't been working since I emigrated.