Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Canada
Reload this Page >

Denied US visa waiver

Denied US visa waiver

Old Jul 6th 2014, 3:21 am
Forum Regular

enbee is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Denied US visa waiver

I'm a permanent resident of Canada and I recently applied for the US visa waiver as I'm going to New York in 2 weeks for a vacation. I've applied previously and not had a problem but I checked the progress of my application today and it has been denied.

Is there something different about applying via the ESTA website as a UK citizen that is a permanent resident of Canada that I should be aware of? I'm really upset as this is my first vacation with my Canadian girlfriend and I don't understand why it would be denied
Old Jul 6th 2014, 3:53 am
BE Forum Addict

MarkG has a reputation beyond reputeMarkG has a reputation beyond reputeMarkG has a reputation beyond reputeMarkG has a reputation beyond reputeMarkG has a reputation beyond reputeMarkG has a reputation beyond reputeMarkG has a reputation beyond reputeMarkG has a reputation beyond reputeMarkG has a reputation beyond reputeMarkG has a reputation beyond reputeMarkG has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Denied US visa waiver

Didn't you get an instant clearance on the ESTA web site? It's years now since I did mine, but I would have thought that not getting cleared straight away would show some kind of red flag against you.
Old Jul 6th 2014, 3:59 am
Forum Regular

No, when I applied it said it would take up to 72 hours for a decision which also worried me. I've read the application over a few times and I can't see any mistakes in the questions or information given.
Old Jul 6th 2014, 4:12 am
BE Forum Addict