Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Rest of the World > Caribbean > Barbados
Reload this Page >

marrying a bajan citizen - can I move there with her?

marrying a bajan citizen - can I move there with her?

Old May 21st 2010, 2:49 pm
Just Joined

doberdog is an unknown quantity at this point
Default marrying a bajan citizen - can I move there with her?

Hi all

I have been with my partner for 15yrs and lived with her for 10. Hr parents are Bajan and though she was born here sh lived there for 8 yrs and still has bajan citizenship - I believe this means she can walk straight back into the country whenever she likes? how about me - would it help if we married?

The thing is we are both very disillusioned with the uk at present and can't see it getting any better so would love to move to the island as soon as possible - I have holidayed there several times and fell in love with the place.

As far as skills are concerned I was an IT manager for a good few years and currently run my own car repair business, I also spent many years working on the land so know a little about agriculture. I would take any job going but believe there are rules about relocating there if the job you are looking for can be done by a bajan - is this the case if I am married to a citizen? My father inlaw is also looking at repatriating there and starting a new business which he would like me to help him run - surely he can employ who he wishes?

I am also considering starting my own business which I believe doesn't exist out there yet -least not in the format I would do it.

We wouldn't need to find a home as my inlaws will let us use their house until we get on our feet and they are offering us a very large plot of land to build on when were ready.
Also I have a little bit of debt here in the UK which I would minimise by selling the house but would this have a derogatory effect on being granted access?

Any advice would be great

Thanks
Old May 22nd 2010, 3:35 pm
Forum Regular