Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Wife temporarily wants to return to home country, what happens to our periodic rent?

Wife temporarily wants to return to home country, what happens to our periodic rent?

Old Jul 6th 2011, 7:22 am
BE Enthusiast

BARDI77 has a brilliant futureBARDI77 has a brilliant futureBARDI77 has a brilliant futureBARDI77 has a brilliant futureBARDI77 has a brilliant futureBARDI77 has a brilliant futureBARDI77 has a brilliant future
Question Wife temporarily wants to return to home country, what happens to our periodic rent?

Hi,

My wife and I have been renting this property since 9 months ago (QLD). Our fixed term contract lapsed into a periodic contract three months ago.

Now she wants to return to her home country to visit her mother and be with family. I will accompany her, but only for 2 weeks as I have to return to Australia soon.

By the time she returns to Australia, I will have probably vacated this property.

Now considering the fact that both my name and my wife's name are in the lease agreement as tenants, what measures we should take before she leaves Australia so I can vacate the property without trouble when she is not in Australia?

Is completing the form "Change of shared bond arrangement" the only thing we should before she leaves Australia?

http://www.rta.qld.gov.au/zone_files/forms/06_form6.pdf

Thanks!
Old Jul 6th 2011, 8:20 am
Bright in Orange

Scotty1 has a reputation beyond reputeScotty1 has a reputation beyond reputeScotty1 has a reputation beyond reputeScotty1 has a reputation beyond reputeScotty1 has a reputation beyond reputeScotty1 has a reputation beyond reputeScotty1 has a reputation beyond reputeScotty1 has a reputation beyond reputeScotty1 has a reputation beyond reputeScotty1 has a reputation beyond reputeScotty1 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Wife temporarily wants to return to home country, what happens to our periodic re