Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

UK £ - Oz $ tax question (sorry!)

UK £ - Oz $ tax question (sorry!)

Old Oct 21st 2009, 8:44 am
Trust me.... I'm a nurse.

Nurse-Tom is just really niceNurse-Tom is just really niceNurse-Tom is just really niceNurse-Tom is just really niceNurse-Tom is just really niceNurse-Tom is just really niceNurse-Tom is just really niceNurse-Tom is just really nice
Question UK £ - Oz $ tax question (sorry!)

Hi folks,
I've tried searching for info on this but don't seem to be able to find the answers.

We've sold our house, we have £100k banked in the UK, we move to Oz next week (28/10), we don't want to exchange our £s just now (poor exchange and not ready to buy property).

How long do we have to transfer our equity from UK to Oz before we are tax liable? What will our tax rate be on the above amount? We will be permanent residents in Australia on 175 visas.

Thanks for your help.
Old Oct 21st 2009, 8:48 am
Forum Regular

perth bound is on a distinguished road
Default Re: UK £ - Oz $ tax question (sorry!)

Originally Posted by Nurse-Tom
Hi folks,
I've tried searching for info on this but don't seem to be able to find the answers.

We've sold our house, we have £100k banked in the UK, we move to Oz next week (28/10), we don't want to exchange our £s just now (poor exchange and not ready to buy property).

How long do we have to transfer our equity from UK to Oz before we are tax liable? What will our tax rate be on the above amount? We will be permanent residents in Australia on 175 visas.

Thanks for your help.

Sorry I can't help, but we are in the same boat, so will be interested to hear opinions. Good look with your move, hope it goes smoothly for you.
Old Oct 21st 2009, 8:59 am