Too old at 39?

Old Jul 3rd 2004, 9:01 am
Forum Regular

Brummie is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Too old at 39?

Am I really too old to be considered to start a new life for myself and my family in Oz?

With all this interest in the new SIR visa I have just reassessed my points score and come out with a lowly 95!! Here's how it breaks down:

Occupation - Graphic Designer - 50 points
Age - 39 - 20 points
English speaking - 20 points
Work experience - 5 points

... and yet I have nearly 20 years continuous experience in the Graphic/Advertising business and see myself potentially starting my own business in the next 5 years. My wife is a police officer, so no points there then!!

You'd think that we would be a 'catch' to these areas of Oz that are desperate for people, but it appears that unless you're under 30 then they don't want to know.

Not wishing to invest in the Oz Bond, have I missed a load of extra points somewhere or is the dream now finally buried? Any advice or words of comfort would be appreciated!!

Cheers
Paul
Old Jul 3rd 2004, 9:14 am
You sip .... I glug !!!

Vegemite Kids has a reputation beyond reputeVegemite Kids has a reputation beyond reputeVegemite Kids has a reputation beyond reputeVegemite Kids has a reputation beyond reputeVegemite Kids has a reputation beyond reputeVegemite Kids has a reputation beyond reputeVegemite Kids has a reputation beyond reputeVegemite Kids has a reputation beyond reputeVegemite Kids has a reputation beyond reputeVegemite Kids has a reputation beyond reputeVegemite Kids has a reputation beyond repute

why only 5 points for "nearly 20 years continuous experience in the Graphic/Advertising business" ? I'm not an expert but surely there's something wrong there ?
Old Jul 3rd 2004, 9:35 am
Forum Regular

trainee_pilot will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Too old at 39?

[i]