Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Student Loan Can I Just Disappear?

Student Loan Can I Just Disappear?

Old Apr 19th 2005, 9:41 am
Just Joined

Wee Bubba is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Student Loan Can I Just Disappear?

i am emigrating to Oz in 2 weeks (YAY!).

i have a student loan here in the UK which I cannot afford to pay. ive been deferring it for god knows how many years because my salary has never gone over the threshold but it has this time around so they wrote to me last week saying thay will start to take repayments out of my bank account soon.

the way i see it, my bank accounts will be closed, i will no longer be residing at my UK address, and the next of kin I put down on my form when I took the loan out is now deceased. so i cant see how the loans company can track me if i dont ring them up to tell them what im up to.

anyone else done this? thanks.
Old Apr 19th 2005, 9:47 am

bondipom is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Student Loan Can I Just Disappear?

Originally Posted by Wee Bubba

i have a student loan here in the UK which I cannot afford to pay. ive been deferring it for god knows how many years because my salary has never gone over the threshold but it has this time around so they wrote to me last week saying thay will start to take repayments out of my bank account soon.

the way i see it, my bank accounts will be closed, i will no longer be residing at my UK address, and the next of kin I put down on my form when I took the loan out is now deceased. so i cant see how the loans company can track me if i dont ring them up to tell them what im up to.

They will have all your previous addresses and may well sell your debt. They may or may not come after you. But any info on your credit record will be used. You can defer from Australia as well which is what I do.
Old Apr 19th 2005, 9:51 am
Just Joined

Wee Bubba is an unknown quantity at this point