Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Ship Year Old TV?

Ship Year Old TV?

Old Jan 18th 2005, 2:34 pm
  #1  
Just Joined
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 2
richieb is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Ship Year Old TV?

I was wondering peoples views about shipping my year old 28" TV? I've heard that I may need to get a slight adjustment done or use it through an Aussie VCR. What are people's experiences as to how easy this is?

Shipping's happening on Monday!!
richieb is offline  
Old Jan 18th 2005, 2:36 pm
  #2  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Brisbane, Queensland.
Posts: 104
GCS15 will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Ship Year Old TV?

G'day

Umm why pay for shipping? Just sell it and buy one here. They are pretty cheap.

Hope you have a stress free trip
GCS15 is offline  
Old Jan 18th 2005, 2:39 pm
  #3  
BE Forum Addict
 
manxfamily's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,927
manxfamily has a reputation beyond reputemanxfamily has a reputation beyond reputemanxfamily has a reputation beyond reputemanxfamily has a reputation beyond reputemanxfamily has a reputation beyond reputemanxfamily has a reputation beyond reputemanxfamily has a reputation beyond reputemanxfamily has a reputation beyond reputemanxfamily has a reputation beyond reputemanxfamily has a reputation beyond reputemanxfamily has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Ship Year Old TV?

Originally Posted by richieb
I was wondering peoples views about shipping my year old 28" TV? I've heard that I may need to get a slight adjustment done or use it through an Aussie VCR. What are people's experiences as to how easy this is?

Shipping's happening on Monday!!

Get rid of it and buy a new one.

good luck
manxfamily is offline  
Old Jan 18th 2005, 2:56 pm
  #4  
Prisoner of Her Majesty
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: Chapel Hill, Brisbane
Posts: 838
samnrob2 has much to be proud ofsamnrob2 has much to be proud ofsamnrob2 has much to be proud ofsamnrob2 has much to be proud ofsamnrob2 has much to be proud ofsamnrob2 has much to be proud ofsamnrob2 has much to be proud ofsamnrob2 has much to be proud ofsamnrob2 has much to be proud ofsamnrob2 has much to be proud ofsamnrob2 has much to be proud of
Default Re: Ship Year Old TV?

Originally Posted by manxfamily
Get rid of it and buy a new one.

good luck
I had a 42 inch rear projection but really couldn't see the point of shipping it so have sold it.

Look around on Oz websites and you'll find some decent priced sets. Have a look on ebay.com.au as well

Rob
samnrob2 is offline  
Old Jan 18th 2005, 3:02 pm
  #5  
BE Enthusiast
 
JJL family's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Goldcoast
Posts: 347
JJL family will become famous soon enoughJJL family will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Ship Year Old TV?

[QUOTE=samnrob2]I had a 42 inch rear projection but really couldn't see the point of shipping it so have sold it.



Just wondering why.........just bought a 42 plasma and if we sold it we'd never get the £3.200 it cost us back, also we had it checked out and told it would be compatible I HOPE SO.

Lesley
JJL family is offline  
Old Jan 18th 2005, 3:10 pm
  #6  
Paul, Louise, Laura & Amy
 
gajjitt's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: Kinross, Perth, WA
Posts: 601
gajjitt has a brilliant futuregajjitt has a brilliant futuregajjitt has a brilliant futuregajjitt has a brilliant futuregajjitt has a brilliant futuregajjitt has a brilliant futuregajjitt has a brilliant futuregajjitt has a brilliant future
Default Re: Ship Year Old TV?

[QUOTE=JJL family]
Originally Posted by samnrob2
I had a 42 inch rear projection but really couldn't see the point of shipping it so have sold it.



Just wondering why.........just bought a 42 plasma and if we sold it we'd never get the £3.200 it cost us back, also we had it checked out and told it would be compatible I HOPE SO.

Lesley

You could ship it. Check what video system it runs on. PAL is not enough to guarantee. UK runs on PAL-I and Australia is PAL-B/G. You'll get a picture but no sound on a UK TV in Oz.

However if you use SCART/SVideo instead of using the sets internal tuner then all will be fine. E.g. if you have a set top box for satellite or cable TV.

I'm not taking my 28" wide screen TV as they are now pretty inexpensive in Oz.

Cheers Paul
gajjitt is offline  
Old Jan 18th 2005, 3:16 pm
  #7  
Prisoner of Her Majesty
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: Chapel Hill, Brisbane
Posts: 838
samnrob2 has much to be proud ofsamnrob2 has much to be proud ofsamnrob2 has much to be proud ofsamnrob2 has much to be proud ofsamnrob2 has much to be proud ofsamnrob2 has much to be proud ofsamnrob2 has much to be proud ofsamnrob2 has much to be proud ofsamnrob2 has much to be proud ofsamnrob2 has much to be proud ofsamnrob2 has much to be proud of
Default Re: Ship Year Old TV?

Originally Posted by gajjitt
You could ship it. Check what video system it runs on. PAL is not enough to guarantee. UK runs on PAL-I and Australia is PAL-B/G. You'll get a picture but no sound on a UK TV in Oz.

However if you use SCART/SVideo instead of using the sets internal tuner then all will be fine. E.g. if you have a set top box for satellite or cable TV.

I'm not taking my 28" wide screen TV as they are now pretty inexpensive in Oz.

Cheers Paul
I'll echo Paul's comments. I had my TV for a couple of years so wasn't overly concerned at loosing loads of money on it - in fact I think I got a pretty good price for it considering how cheap TV's now are in UK.

Plus we're not planning on taking a container with us so sending a TV over was even more pointless.

Rob
samnrob2 is offline  
Old Jan 18th 2005, 4:27 pm
  #8  
Birds of a feather . . .
 
binbird's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: In my own home! Northern Beaches, Sydney
Posts: 1,788
binbird has a reputation beyond reputebinbird has a reputation beyond reputebinbird has a reputation beyond reputebinbird has a reputation beyond reputebinbird has a reputation beyond reputebinbird has a reputation beyond reputebinbird has a reputation beyond reputebinbird has a reputation beyond reputebinbird has a reputation beyond reputebinbird has a reputation beyond reputebinbird has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Ship Year Old TV?

Originally Posted by richieb
I was wondering peoples views about shipping my year old 28" TV? I've heard that I may need to get a slight adjustment done or use it through an Aussie VCR. What are people's experiences as to how easy this is?

Shipping's happening on Monday!!
Personally, I would ship it (just to throw a cat among the pigeons!) If it's only a year old I would keep my fingers crossed. This plan worked out ok for my brother in law who emigrated last year with a 2 year old set. I know NZ is a whole different ball game but my sister emigrated last year and only took one tv not expecting it to work and BINGO it did and she regrets not taking the other as it was not a lot older. If you are paying for a container anyway, what difference does a tv make? We certainly can't afford to give everything away (or sell things for less than half the cost of a replacement) so let your budget make the decision for you.

Binbird
binbird is offline  
Old Jan 18th 2005, 6:29 pm
  #9  
BE Forum Addict
 
karenjc's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Gilston, GOLD COAST.
Posts: 1,661
karenjc has much to be proud ofkarenjc has much to be proud ofkarenjc has much to be proud ofkarenjc has much to be proud ofkarenjc has much to be proud ofkarenjc has much to be proud ofkarenjc has much to be proud ofkarenjc has much to be proud ofkarenjc has much to be proud ofkarenjc has much to be proud ofkarenjc has much to be proud of
Default Re: Ship Year Old TV?

Originally Posted by richieb
I was wondering peoples views about shipping my year old 28" TV? I've heard that I may need to get a slight adjustment done or use it through an Aussie VCR. What are people's experiences as to how easy this is?

Shipping's happening on Monday!!
we asked our friends this question and they said it would cost about a $150 to get it to work over in oz
karenjc is offline  
Old Jan 18th 2005, 11:14 pm
  #10  
Class 2 Guru
 
MarkMyWords's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2004
Location: Where the stars look very diff-e-rent today... and tomorrow!
Posts: 1,124
MarkMyWords will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Ship Year Old TV?

I agree with binbird. If you're shipping a container, there will be neglible extra cost for the TV. If it's only a year old, chances are it'll have its own built-in adjuster.

So... are you shipping a container?

And... pick up your remote, go into the system setup menu (or whatever it's called) and look for some suitable setting. You need to change the sound/vision offset from 6Mhz to 5 (I think, or is it from 5 to 6?), and it might be a menu entry that says that or it might be one that talks about the PAL-I vs PAL-G thing. If hopelessly lost, read the manual in gory detail. (You've only had it a year, whaddya mean you've lost the manual?!) Also, what's the model? Maybe you can look it up on the web or contact the manufacturer.

Finally, even if you can't adjust it, buying a local VCR to run it through is immensely cheaper than buying a new TV!

Last edited by MarkMyWords; Jan 18th 2005 at 11:16 pm.
MarkMyWords is offline  
Old Jan 19th 2005, 12:21 am
  #11  
I don't re Member
 
andrew63's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2004
Location: Termite Country (Tanah Merah)
Posts: 1,372
andrew63 has a reputation beyond reputeandrew63 has a reputation beyond reputeandrew63 has a reputation beyond reputeandrew63 has a reputation beyond reputeandrew63 has a reputation beyond reputeandrew63 has a reputation beyond reputeandrew63 has a reputation beyond reputeandrew63 has a reputation beyond reputeandrew63 has a reputation beyond reputeandrew63 has a reputation beyond reputeandrew63 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Ship Year Old TV?

Originally Posted by MarkMyWords
Finally, even if you can't adjust it, buying a local VCR to run it through is immensely cheaper than buying a new TV!
Bought two of mine with me!
Both work perfectly! One through an Aussie video (AUS$89) and the other is connected to Foxtel.
Absolutely no adjustments required
PS: due to conflicting advice, I contacted the manufacturer, JVC, through their web site and they confirmed that I would have no problem and no adjustment necessary.

However, as above, if you have a container coming anyway, no problem. If you are shipping it seperately, consider selling and buying new over here.
Andrew
andrew63 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.