Scooters in NSW

Old Oct 13th 2009, 6:11 am
happy here :)

PamE is a splendid one to beholdPamE is a splendid one to beholdPamE is a splendid one to beholdPamE is a splendid one to beholdPamE is a splendid one to beholdPamE is a splendid one to beholdPamE is a splendid one to beholdPamE is a splendid one to beholdPamE is a splendid one to beholdPamE is a splendid one to beholdPamE is a splendid one to behold
Question Scooters in NSW

Am total newbie on this topic, so please bear with me! I don't know a thing about scooters beyond being able to drive a 125cc automatic (for which I have never had lessons nor a licence). I am moving to NSW next month. I don't have a drivers licence for a car as I never learned to drive. I will be taking driving lessons but I know it takes a long time in NSW to log up hours etc, so it'll be well over a year before I can think about cars. Meantime I'll really need some mode of independant transport, so I thought perhaps a little scooter. I've done some searching online but seems laws are different in all states, some require driver's licence etc, also am not clear about all the cc stuff and so on.

In a nutshell - is there some little motorised vehicle I can get a NSW licence for and be up and running on pretty quickly? Doesn't matter if it's just a little hairdryer, so long as it gets me from A to B on my own!

Thanks in advance
Old Oct 13th 2009, 7:04 am
ABCDiamond

Default Re: Scooters in NSW

What about scooter and automatic only licences?
Riders of automatic motorcycles under 160ml are exempt from the pre-provisional course.
However, they are required to attend and pass the pre-learner course and the MOST.
Riders of automatic motorcycles larger than 160ml will have their licence endorsed with a condition: “May only ride automatic motorcycles”. This condition will be valid until an unrestricted licence is issued.
http://www.rta.nsw.gov.au/licensing/...e_courses.html

http://www.scootersales.com.au/News-...ta-update.aspx