Reload this Page >

Programming jobs in Australia

Programming jobs in Australia

Old Aug 21st 2009, 5:54 am
Just Joined

auron is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Programming jobs in Australia

Hi,

I'm a Java programmer with 5 years experience - two and a half of those in banking (where I'm currently working) and looking to emmigrate to Aus.

How is the market for Java programmers - where are the majority of the jobs (both non banking and banking). Are there jobs available in all the big cities - Sydney, Perth, Melbourne, Brisbane etc?

And what sort of salary can I hope to get for a good programmer both inside and outside of banking, does it differ much by city (I'm earning 50,000 pounds now basic salary)

Obviously I realise now is a bad time but before the recession would I have to get work in Syndey or are the other major cities okay?

Ideally I'd like to work in a city but maybe not Syndey - want somewhere a little cheaper and a little cooler - I understand Melborune fits the bill and is a very nice place - any comments on that or other cities??

And could I realistically apply for a job now from England on the internet (without any visa etc) and get accepted and sponsored for a visa without having lived in Australia first, or will I have to go through the whole immigration process first, then go to Australia and find work locally ?

Thanks for the help

Last edited by auron; Aug 21st 2009 at 6:01 am.
Old Aug 21st 2009, 6:16 am
Account Closed

iamthecreaturefromuranus is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Programming jobs in Australia

Originally Posted by auron
Hi,

I'm a Java programmer with 5 years experience - two and a half of those in banking (where I'm currently working) and looking to emmigrate to Aus.

How is the market for Java programmers - where are the majority of the jobs (both non banking and banking). Are there jobs available in all the big cities - Sydney, Perth, Melbourne, Brisbane etc?