Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Perth v's Brisbane

Perth v's Brisbane

Old Jan 20th 2005, 10:03 am
PeterC

PeterC is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Perth v's Brisbane

We are due to arrive in Oz in June - but we still are unsure where to live having visited both Perth and Brisbane many times and really like both areas.
Work will dictate of course. I'm a Civil Engineer by profession.
We have two kids (daughter 17, son 14).
The kids prefer Perth.
My worry for Perth or example will be procuring continous employment due to it's "remoteness." Brisbane being larger area might offer more of a job scope.
Appreciate any advise?
Regards.\
Pete
Old Jan 20th 2005, 10:06 am
Proudly Deplorable

Amazulu has a reputation beyond reputeAmazulu has a reputation beyond reputeAmazulu has a reputation beyond reputeAmazulu has a reputation beyond reputeAmazulu has a reputation beyond reputeAmazulu has a reputation beyond reputeAmazulu has a reputation beyond reputeAmazulu has a reputation beyond reputeAmazulu has a reputation beyond reputeAmazulu has a reputation beyond reputeAmazulu has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Perth v's Brisbane

Originally Posted by PeterC
We are due to arrive in Oz in June - but we still are unsure where to live having visited both Perth and Brisbane many times and really like both areas.
The kids prefer Perth.
My worry for Perth or example will be procuring continous employment due to it's "remoteness." Brisbane being larger area might offer more of a job scope.
Appreciate any advise?
Regards.\
Pete
Perth is better for engineering.
Old Jan 21st 2005, 8:44 am
PeterC

Originally Posted by Amazulu
Perth is better for engineering.
Thanks.
Suppose employment agents will advise - but certainly for the first couple of years - I will need to be able to commute "home" on a daily basis, rather than get work on a fly in fly out rota. That option would really please the wife... !