Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Obstacles at every turn!

Obstacles at every turn!

Old Jun 18th 2006, 12:28 pm
Forum Regular

shonalouise has a brilliant futureshonalouise has a brilliant futureshonalouise has a brilliant futureshonalouise has a brilliant futureshonalouise has a brilliant futureshonalouise has a brilliant future
Default Obstacles at every turn!

Well it would seem that we are not the only people who seem to have a rough ride in getting to Oz. I am a newly qualified nurse and am therefore only eligible for the 457 visa at present (and yes, I am aware of the pitfalls but do not want to wait a couple of years!). I have finally had my registration granted in NSW after weeks of delays whilst they requested all the paperwork under the sun (plus a little more for good measure) and my University were none too helpful in providing the necessaries! We have finally got a sale going through on the house (very traumatic!), survey done but no contracts signed yet, fingers crossed! Now waiting again for my registration paperwork to come through, twelve days and counting so far. Once I have this I have to send to my sponsor who will then make an application to nominate me. Does anybody have any experience of how long this will take. Obviously can't start visa until I have nomination number. I have booked my medical for a couple of weeks time and I am hoping that I will have it by then. My job starts on the 4th of September and we are hoping to travel at the beginning of August although time is ticking away quickly!