Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Moving to Australia

Moving to Australia

Old Jan 14th 2002, 11:16 am
  #1  
Retired *********
Thread Starter
 
pread's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2002
Location: The Dandenongs
Posts: 349
pread is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Myself and my wife are seriously considering emigrating to Australia, probably within the next year. I am British, but have lived the last 4 years in Munich, Germany. We've pretty much decided on Melbourne considering the job market (I'm an SAP Functional Analyst) and recommendations from Ozzies. But one major snag may be that I do not have a degree or equivalent. However, I do have 12 years experience in the IT Industry, 4 years specifically in SAP. Is this likely to be a showstopper ?

Cheers,

Paul.
pread is offline  
Old Jan 14th 2002, 9:35 pm
  #2  
Daniel Bowen
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >

The degree is unlikely to be a problem for a job, given your experience.

But check the immigration requirements. http://www.immi.gov.au/

Daniel
--
Daniel Bowen, Melbourne, Australia [email protected] Visiting Australia FAQ
http://www.custard.net.au/australia/
 
Old Jan 14th 2002, 10:16 pm
  #3  
Dave Noble
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

in message

[usenetquote2]>> Myself and my wife are seriously considering emigrating to Australia, probably[/usenetquote2]
[usenetquote2]>> within the next year. I am British, but have lived the last 4 years in Munich,[/usenetquote2]
[usenetquote2]>> Germany. We've pretty much decided on Melbourne considering the job market (I'm an[/usenetquote2]
[usenetquote2]>> SAP Functional Analyst) and recommendations from Ozzies. But one major snag may be[/usenetquote2]
[usenetquote2]>> that I do not have a degree or equivalent. However, I do have 12 years experience[/usenetquote2]
[usenetquote2]>> in the IT Industry, 4 years specifically in SAP. Is this likely to be a[/usenetquote2]
[usenetquote2]>> showstopper ?[/usenetquote2]
    >
    >
    >
    >

I would have said that it was unlikelyt. A degree or equivalent is the normal
requirement. The best thing to to would be to contact the Australian Computer Society
in Sydney , since they do the skills assesments for DIMA.

http://www.acs.org.au/national/accre...os-require.htm

Without a degree, they use a Recognised Prior Learning method from which they assess
whether your knowledge is of a graduate level

http://www.acs.org.au/national/accre...s-recogapp.doc

They do/did offer a pre-assesment facility.

Dave
 
Old Jan 15th 2002, 12:42 am
  #4  
Daniel Bowen
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

    >

    >

[usenetquote2]> >> considering the job market (I'm an SAP Functional Analyst) and recommendations[/usenetquote2]
[usenetquote2]> >> from Ozzies. But one major snag may be that I do not have a degree or[/usenetquote2]
[usenetquote2]> >> equivalent. However, I do have 12 years experience in the IT Industry, 4 years[/usenetquote2]
[usenetquote2]> >> specifically in SAP. Is this likely to be a showstopper ?[/usenetquote2]
[usenetquote2]> >[/usenetquote2]
[usenetquote2]> >The degree is unlikely to be a problem for a job, given your experience.[/usenetquote2]
[usenetquote2]> >[/usenetquote2]
[usenetquote2]> >But check the immigration requirements. http://www.immi.gov.au/[/usenetquote2]
    >
    >
    >
    >

Ah yes I see what you mean. The degree might be a snag in getting the visa.
Yes, quite so.

If however you have the visa, getting the job without having a degree (but having 12
yrs experience) would be unlikely to be a problem.

Daniel
--
Daniel Bowen, Melbourne, Australia [email protected] Guide to Australia:
http://www.toxiccustard.com/australia/
 
Old Jan 15th 2002, 6:21 am
  #5  
Dave Noble
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

in message

[usenetquote2]>> >> considering the job market (I'm an SAP Functional Analyst) and recommendations[/usenetquote2]
[usenetquote2]>> >> from Ozzies. But one major snag may be that I do not have a degree or[/usenetquote2]
[usenetquote2]>> >> equivalent. However, I do have 12 years experience in the IT Industry, 4 years[/usenetquote2]
[usenetquote2]>> >> specifically in SAP. Is this likely to be a showstopper ?[/usenetquote2]
[usenetquote2]>> >[/usenetquote2]
[usenetquote2]>> >The degree is unlikely to be a problem for a job, given your experience.[/usenetquote2]
[usenetquote2]>> >[/usenetquote2]
[usenetquote2]>> >But check the immigration requirements. http://www.immi.gov.au/[/usenetquote2]
[usenetquote2]>>[/usenetquote2]
[usenetquote2]>> I would have said that it was unlikelyt. A degree or equivalent is the normal[/usenetquote2]
[usenetquote2]>> requirement. The best thing to to would be to contact the Australian Computer[/usenetquote2]
[usenetquote2]>> Society in Sydney , since they do the skills assesments for DIMA.[/usenetquote2]
    >
    >
    >

I believe the main exception that can occur is if the occupation appears on the
Modified Occupations In Demand list, which I doubt it does. At that stage a diploma
level qualification lets you breeze in.

    >
    >
    >
Wouldn't dispute that. If he was lucky enough to find a company prepared to sponsor
him , then his odds increase dramatically, though in the current economic climate, I
expect that there are enough local/visa holders to go round

Another way would be to try and secure a contract ( rather than a permanent position
) since some agencies are able to issue the 457 visa ( Long term business permit )
which are valid for 4 years .

Dave
 
Old Jan 17th 2002, 8:25 am
  #6  
Retired *********
Thread Starter
 
pread's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2002
Location: The Dandenongs
Posts: 349
pread is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Moving to Australia

Thanks for the info. I have already been in contact with an agency at http://www.eaglepeople.com/SAPvisa.htm, about the possibility of the 457 Visa. Hopefully that should work out OK. I don't suppose anyone has heard of this Agency ?

Cheers,

Paul.
pread is offline  
Old Jan 23rd 2002, 2:22 pm
  #7  
Retired *********
Thread Starter
 
pread's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2002
Location: The Dandenongs
Posts: 349
pread is an unknown quantity at this point
Default SAP on MODL

[QUOTE]Originally posted by Dave Noble

<<I believe the main exception that can occur is if the <<occupation appears on the
<<Modified Occupations In Demand list, which I doubt it <<does. At that stage a diploma
<<level qualification lets you breeze in.

Actually, SAP is one of the 10 currently listed occupations on the MODL :

http://www.immi.gov.au/ict/fs05.htm

How would that change things ?
pread is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.