Reload this Page >

Job Market in Melbourne (IT)

Job Market in Melbourne (IT)

Old Sep 8th 2005, 8:56 pm
Just Joined

fjw999 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Job Market in Melbourne (IT)

Hi everyone,

Just new to the forum but just got my visa last week and now starting to panic about jobs. Can anyone advise on what the IT job market is like in Melbourne? I currently work as an AIX admin with good experience in HACMP/TSM/SAN/Perl (8 yrs in total) but when I look at all the job sites in oz it looks like the best place for me would be Sydney but I really want to move to Melbourne. Any advice would be much appreciated

Thanks
Ecstatically panicked (but can't wait)
Old Sep 8th 2005, 10:44 pm
Forum Regular

Sagacity is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Job Market in Melbourne (IT)

Originally Posted by fjw999
when I look at all the job sites in oz it looks like the best place for me would be Sydney but I really want to move to Melbourne. Any advice would be much appreciated
We were in the same boat a few months ago - both my husband and I are in IT and we really wanted to go to Melbourne. Yes, Sydney has more job opportunities, but there are also more people applying for them. I just gritted my teeth every time I saw a position I'm perfectly qualified for in Sydney - i.e., a couple a day versus 1-2 a week in Melbourne - but refused to budge. It took me four weeks to get a job, and that's the period of time between updating my CV and accepting the offer I liked. I applied only to four companies during that time, because, as I said, very few vacancies that I'm suitable for come up on Seek every week, sometimes none at all. I got only one rejection - didn't even make it to the shortlist - and three offers. Hubby's still looking for work - absurdly enough, he's been offered a job in Adelaide (via a Melbourne recruitment agent), but didn't accept it as we'd like to stay where we are.
Old Sep 8th 2005, 11:06 pm
BE Enthusiast