Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

FAMILY OF 5, MOVING TO BRISBANE... HOW MUCH DO I NEED TO EARN??

FAMILY OF 5, MOVING TO BRISBANE... HOW MUCH DO I NEED TO EARN??

Old Jul 4th 2011, 11:51 am
Just Joined

thearthurs is an unknown quantity at this point
Question FAMILY OF 5, MOVING TO BRISBANE... HOW MUCH DO I NEED TO EARN??

Hi, i'm a newby to this forum, just recently decided to fulfil our dream and emigrate to Oz. I'm a gas plant operator and currently earn around £40,000. We have three young children and have a decent standard of living over here. What kind of salary am i looking at getting for the equivelant job in Brisbane (eg. Oil terminal operator), and will this single income support a good standard of living there??
Old Jul 4th 2011, 11:59 am
BE Forum Addict

bingobob777 has a reputation beyond reputebingobob777 has a reputation beyond reputebingobob777 has a reputation beyond reputebingobob777 has a reputation beyond reputebingobob777 has a reputation beyond reputebingobob777 has a reputation beyond reputebingobob777 has a reputation beyond reputebingobob777 has a reputation beyond reputebingobob777 has a reputation beyond reputebingobob777 has a reputation beyond reputebingobob777 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: FAMILY OF 5, MOVING TO BRISBANE... HOW MUCH DO I NEED TO EARN??

Based on my experiences since arriving in Brisbane 4 months ago, a family of 5 would need at least 120k to experience a good lifestyle, ie. still have holidays, meals out etc.

Any plans on saving for the future then you need more.

Somebody will arrive and say you can "get by" or "survive" on 80k, but honestly what is the point?
Old Jul 4th 2011, 12:10 pm
Just Joined

Smile Re: FAMILY OF 5, MOVING TO BRISBANE... HOW MUCH DO I NEED TO EARN??