Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Do Emirates stop at dubia & singapore ?

Do Emirates stop at dubia & singapore ?

Old Jan 18th 2005, 11:33 am
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Sunshine Coast
Posts: 247
jwinch has a spectacular aura aboutjwinch has a spectacular aura aboutjwinch has a spectacular aura about
Default Do Emirates stop at dubia & singapore ?

My Mum has booked some flights with emirates through a travel agent who are telling her that emirates only have one stop in Dubai.

When i looked on the web site and on ebookers they appear to stop twice once in dubai then in singapore

Can anyone who has done this journey confirm this

Thanks
jwinch is offline  
Old Jan 18th 2005, 11:36 am
  #2  
Bitter and twisted
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Location: Upmarket
Posts: 17,503
Grayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Do Emirates stop at dubia & singapore ?

Originally Posted by jwinch
My Mum has booked some flights with emirates through a travel agent who are telling her that emirates only have one stop in Dubai.

When i looked on the web site and on ebookers they appear to stop twice once in dubai then in singapore

Can anyone who has done this journey confirm this

Thanks
Some flights do but there is now a direct connection from Dubai to Sydney (and maybe some other cities..not sure).

She is probably booked on a direct non stop flight.

G
Grayling is offline  
Old Jan 18th 2005, 11:38 am
  #3  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Sunshine Coast
Posts: 247
jwinch has a spectacular aura aboutjwinch has a spectacular aura aboutjwinch has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Do Emirates stop at dubia & singapore ?

Thanks she is flying into Brisbane




Originally Posted by Grayling
Some flights do but there is now a direct connection from Dubai to Sydney (and maybe some other cities..not sure).

She is probably booked on a direct non stop flight.

G
jwinch is offline  
Old Jan 18th 2005, 11:39 am
  #4  
Just Joined
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: Richmond, London
Posts: 26
kmunce is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Do Emirates stop at dubia & singapore ?

Originally Posted by jwinch
Thanks she is flying into Brisbane
I flew with Emirates to Brisbane and back and we stopped at both - an hour or 2 at each.
kmunce is offline  
Old Jan 18th 2005, 11:42 am
  #5  
Bitter and twisted
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Location: Upmarket
Posts: 17,503
Grayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Do Emirates stop at dubia & singapore ?

Originally Posted by jwinch
Thanks she is flying into Brisbane
Emirates are now using A340 aircraft which can do the flight from Dubai to Australia in one go so you need to check what type of plane she is on.

If the agent says non stop then that is probably what it is.

G
Grayling is offline  
Old Jan 18th 2005, 11:42 am
  #6  
BE Enthusiast
 
JJL family's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Goldcoast
Posts: 347
JJL family will become famous soon enoughJJL family will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Do Emirates stop at dubia & singapore ?

Originally Posted by jwinch
My Mum has booked some flights with emirates through a travel agent who are telling her that emirates only have one stop in Dubai.

When i looked on the web site and on ebookers they appear to stop twice once in dubai then in singapore

Can anyone who has done this journey confirm this

Thanks
we flew with emirates in august, and were told manchester/dubai/dubai/brisbane. but we then stopped in singapore for 1 hour..... you do not have to get off the plane though/ but you can if you want too.


lesley (jjl family)
JJL family is offline  
Old Jan 18th 2005, 11:49 am
  #7  
BE Enthusiast
 
G'Day's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Melbourne - the worlds most livable city
Posts: 964
G'Day has much to be proud ofG'Day has much to be proud ofG'Day has much to be proud ofG'Day has much to be proud ofG'Day has much to be proud ofG'Day has much to be proud ofG'Day has much to be proud ofG'Day has much to be proud ofG'Day has much to be proud ofG'Day has much to be proud ofG'Day has much to be proud of
Default Re: Do Emirates stop at dubia & singapore ?

Originally Posted by JJL family
we flew with emirates in august, and were told manchester/dubai/dubai/brisbane. but we then stopped in singapore for 1 hour..... you do not have to get off the plane though/ but you can if you want too.


lesley (jjl family)

Same here, we also stopped in Singapore although we were supposed to fly Johannesburg/Dubai/Dubai/Melbourne
G'Day is offline  
Old Jan 18th 2005, 11:54 am
  #8  
Bitter and twisted
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Location: Upmarket
Posts: 17,503
Grayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Do Emirates stop at dubia & singapore ?

Originally Posted by G'Day
Same here, we also stopped in Singapore although we were supposed to fly Johannesburg/Dubai/Dubai/Melbourne
I've just checked on My agent's website.

Emirates now fly A340 aircraft direct from Dubai to Sydney (Brisbane?)with NO stops.

Proably changed the schedule recently.

G

Last edited by Grayling; Jan 18th 2005 at 12:13 pm.
Grayling is offline  
Old Jan 18th 2005, 12:01 pm
  #9  
Bitter and twisted
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Location: Upmarket
Posts: 17,503
Grayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Do Emirates stop at dubia & singapore ?

Originally Posted by Grayling
I've just checked on My agent's website.

Emirates now fly A340 aircraft direct from Dubai to Brisbane with NO stops.

Proably changed the schedule recently.

G
But some still do stop at Singapore


http://www.emirates.com/uk/index.asp

Best to check the flight number on the website

G
Grayling is offline  
Old Jan 18th 2005, 12:18 pm
  #10  
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,129
lynnlovessun is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Do Emirates stop at dubia & singapore ?

We flew from Heathrow - Dubai - Singapore - Brisbane December 2003.

As Gryling says this might of changed due to different plane sizes - you would need to specifically book this route with a travel agent.

When we go I want to give dubai a miss as a stopover and visit singapore this time (stopped in Dubai the last time). The stop in singapore was only for refuelling but you could make it your stopover.

We want to fly Emirates from Glasgow airport this time to save the hassle of flying down to Heathrow.

I hope you get everything sorted!

Lynn
lynnlovessun is offline  
Old Jan 18th 2005, 12:20 pm
  #11  
Bitter and twisted
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Location: Upmarket
Posts: 17,503
Grayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond reputeGrayling has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Do Emirates stop at dubia & singapore ?

Originally Posted by lynnlovessun
We flew from Heathrow - Dubai - Singapore - Brisbane December 2003.

As Gryling says this might of changed due to different plane sizes - you would need to specifically book this route with a travel agent.

When we go I want to give dubai a miss as a stopover and visit singapore this time (stopped in Dubai the last time). The stop in singapore was only for refuelling but you could make it your stopover.

We want to fly Emirates from Glasgow airport this time to save the hassle of flying down to Heathrow.

I hope you get everything sorted!

Lynn
The websites are a bit confusing (for me anyway).

It seems that flights to Sydney from Dubai are now non stop but others can vary.

G
Grayling is offline  
Old Jan 18th 2005, 12:42 pm
  #12  
Forum Regular
 
jinxnkay's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: was bolton now brisbane
Posts: 154
jinxnkay is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Do Emirates stop at dubia & singapore ?

Originally Posted by jwinch
My Mum has booked some flights with emirates through a travel agent who are telling her that emirates only have one stop in Dubai.

When i looked on the web site and on ebookers they appear to stop twice once in dubai then in singapore

Can anyone who has done this journey confirm this

Thanks
I flew with emirates to manchester in nov 2004 then back to brisbane 22 dec (last month)
both times the plane stopped in singapore to collect passengers refuel and give the plane a clean over.This takes about an hour.

my flight details didnt mention this either. I think this is because you dont actually change planes like you do when you get to Dubai. I stayed on but most people got off to stretch their legs.

you have to show your boarding pass again before take off whether you stay on or not.
(also if you leave your magazine or anything hanging around on your seat if you get off, the cleaners will throw it away)
jinxnkay is offline  
Old Jan 18th 2005, 1:01 pm
  #13  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
OzTennis's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Location: Scotland
Posts: 7,949
OzTennis has a reputation beyond reputeOzTennis has a reputation beyond reputeOzTennis has a reputation beyond reputeOzTennis has a reputation beyond reputeOzTennis has a reputation beyond reputeOzTennis has a reputation beyond reputeOzTennis has a reputation beyond reputeOzTennis has a reputation beyond reputeOzTennis has a reputation beyond reputeOzTennis has a reputation beyond reputeOzTennis has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Do Emirates stop at dubia & singapore ?

As said Emirates operate 2 stop and 1 stop flights to east coast destinations. If you have one stop obviously that is in Dubai; if you have 2 stop it is in Dubai and Singapore. Emirates flies daily 2 stop and 1 stop to Melbourne. Ironically the stopover in Dubai is much longer for the 1 stop and it arrives some 6 hours later than the 2 stop flight (Melbourne anyway). You also have to pay more for most 1 stop flights and/or cheap fares are not available on the one stop flight. Emirates.com is a clear website. Just enter your airports at either end and some dates and 2 possible flights will come up - 1 stop and 2 stop. I don't know if the 1 stop is daily to Brissie though - it certainly is to Melbourne and Sydney.

OzTennis
OzTennis is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.