Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Complete Change in Direction

Complete Change in Direction

Old Feb 4th 2005, 9:08 am
J+J
Small Member

J+J has a brilliant futureJ+J has a brilliant futureJ+J has a brilliant futureJ+J has a brilliant futureJ+J has a brilliant futureJ+J has a brilliant futureJ+J has a brilliant future
Question Complete Change in Direction

Hi all,

We’ve recently been giving thought as to what we are going to do if/when we finally get to OZ. Joe is a nurse and I’m a Project Manager (Electrical by trade) and these are the skills we’ve been assessed on (meds and PC’s sent early Jan so sitting with everything crossed now).
We now started thinking that if we’re going to sell everything and move to the other side of the globe (various reasons including lifestyle), then why not change career at the same time and do something completely different. So with that in mind we started looking at businesses for sale to give some idea to what things may cost. We like the idea of working together and working for ourselves but to date have never done either. :scared:
We were thinking along the lines of small motel/hostel or coffee bar or something along those lines.
Has anyone else done anything similar? or is it just not that simple? ie there is some huge pitfall that we’ve not seen yet.

Thanks in advance

J+J

Old Feb 4th 2005, 9:15 am
Wol
Lost in BE Cyberspace

Wol has a reputation beyond reputeWol has a reputation beyond reputeWol has a reputation beyond reputeWol has a reputation beyond reputeWol has a reputation beyond reputeWol has a reputation beyond reputeWol has a reputation beyond reputeWol has a reputation beyond reputeWol has a reputation beyond reputeWol has a reputation beyond reputeWol has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Complete Change in Direction

Good luck if you try - but the ground is littered with the remains of folk who "would like to dabble in the hospitality industry"!