Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Any Social Workers on here from Brisbane Please

Any Social Workers on here from Brisbane Please

Old Jan 11th 2007, 2:11 pm
Just Joined

mark&kathy is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Any Social Workers on here from Brisbane Please

We (me, OH and 3 kids) all have our 136 Visa's and have accepted an offer on the house so we are hopefully going to be catching that long awaited flight in March roughly. We are clear about wanting to move to Brsbane and have a few ideas about the area's but any help from a real life Social Worker to chat to would be so very much appreciated. I applied as a Welfare Worker to make sure I didn't get refused but I am a Qualified Social Worker in the UK. I know that you need a degree there now as you do in the Uk but what real chance do I have of getting a job with an old DipSW? any help greatly appreciated.
Old Jan 11th 2007, 4:34 pm
Professional Dreamer!

Big Sky is just really niceBig Sky is just really niceBig Sky is just really niceBig Sky is just really niceBig Sky is just really niceBig Sky is just really niceBig Sky is just really niceBig Sky is just really niceBig Sky is just really niceBig Sky is just really niceBig Sky is just really nice
Default Re: Any Social Workers on here from Brisbane Please

Congratulations on selling your house. I'm a social worker and planning to return to Brisbane as soon as I sell my house, which is taking a very long time!

From my personal experience finding work without a social work degree in Brisbane is very difficult! There is work out there but poorly paid. Other states accept the Dipsw without a degree such as; ACT, NSW, VIC AND SA.

I completed an MA in SW and now have AASW eligibility which allows me to work as a social worker in QLD.

You may have to do unqualified work to start whilst you convert your qualification. Charles Sturt Uni do a conversion course by distance learning.