Old Aug 16th 2008, 7:13 pm
Forum Regular

ourjane211284 is just really niceourjane211284 is just really niceourjane211284 is just really niceourjane211284 is just really niceourjane211284 is just really niceourjane211284 is just really niceourjane211284 is just really niceourjane211284 is just really nice
Default 457

Any one gone on a 457 with husband and child, had any problems? I am a staff nurse who is going to be sponsored and we are really looking forward 2 going.

Would just like to know any ones experiences and that they are enjoying it as much as we are looking forward to it.
Old Aug 17th 2008, 12:10 am
BE Enthusiast

Katherined0 is just really niceKatherined0 is just really niceKatherined0 is just really niceKatherined0 is just really niceKatherined0 is just really niceKatherined0 is just really niceKatherined0 is just really niceKatherined0 is just really niceKatherined0 is just really niceKatherined0 is just really nice
Default Re: 457

not sure where you're heading to but there are a couple of things we didnt realise when we accepted the job!

Firstly that for school aged children you have to pay school fees for state schooling in some states. I know it's not all, but in NSW we pay $4610 per child, per year and this needs to be paid in advance in 1 lump sum (there are installments but these were unamanageable for us as they were 3 installments over 2 months)

Secondly if you are entitled to NHS treatment in the UK you are also entitled to reciprocal health care under the medicare system. This covers "medically necessary" treatment but it is limited. Do a search on 457 and medicare to get some of the good info on this site..

The other thing to be aware of is that on the 457 you are not entitled to certain tax subsidies (such as child care tax rebate)