Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Accountants
Reload this Page >

Sydney compared to London - location of jobs

Sydney compared to London - location of jobs

Old Oct 16th 2007, 3:39 pm
Forum Regular

Astronaut is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Sydney compared to London - location of jobs

Hi,
We're moving to Sydney next year, I'm an ACCA working in consolidation and managing ledger accounting in London currently. I was thinking that I'd have to sacrifice my dream of living near the beach (northern beaches) in order to live somewhere near a train line that would ease my commute into the CBD because I want a door-to-door commute of less than 1 hr.

But that is based on the theory that most of the large companies are exclusively located in the CBD. Is that right, or are many companies spread out in the surrounding areas? I want a challenging job in a large (possibly multi-national) company rather than a small management accounting role somewhere.

I'm used to the central London locations of West End - City - Canary Wharf having the best jobs and salaries. If I move to Sydney and want the same type of role (I know the salaries are lower than London, but I need to maximise) is the CBD the only place?
Old Oct 17th 2007, 1:01 am
JAJ
Retired

JAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Sydney compared to London - location of jobs

Originally Posted by Astronaut
Hi,