Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession
Reload this Page >

sunshine (casual coast) coast chef positions

sunshine (casual coast) coast chef positions

Old Mar 25th 2008, 6:54 am
Forum Regular

tonychef is a name known to alltonychef is a name known to alltonychef is a name known to alltonychef is a name known to alltonychef is a name known to alltonychef is a name known to alltonychef is a name known to alltonychef is a name known to alltonychef is a name known to alltonychef is a name known to alltonychef is a name known to all
Default sunshine (casual coast) coast chef positions

Well considering the amount of talk about chefs needed around oz, I have found this is not entierly true about the sunshine coast considering the amount of restaurants and hotels there are up here most of the jobs are casual positions and the pay is`nt that great either.

I have a job at the moment and its fine but only casual, not something i would like to do long term though, even when applying for positions it hard to get an interview mostly due to location as employers don`t expect you to travel far eg noosa to caloundra ( they consider it a long way 45mins by car )

Iv tried to take a step down to sous chef as i was a head chef in manchester for the last 5 years, then they say im over qualified!!!!!!!!!!

Also traveling around oz for 10 months does`nt help as iv not worked, (but iv not had to) you dont work because you want too, you work because you have to !!!!!!!!!!!! If anyone is considering traveling before settling down work at the same time as it helps in the future !!!!!!!!!!!

It seems there are many more jobs in brissy or gold coast and the money is better but here is great and life good ,so for now its fine but for how long ??????? our rental is paid for by the property in uk so we earn money now to live !!!!!!!!( luckily ) Not giving up on the sunny coast but its frustrating !!!!!!!

any help would be greatfully appreciated