Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession
Reload this Page >

offshore, but with a twist

offshore, but with a twist

Old Sep 18th 2010, 1:37 pm
Just Joined

reaper_gfx is just really nicereaper_gfx is just really nicereaper_gfx is just really nicereaper_gfx is just really nicereaper_gfx is just really nicereaper_gfx is just really nicereaper_gfx is just really nicereaper_gfx is just really nice
Default offshore, but with a twist

Hi all, just recently joined and my first question, a quick background of where this question is coming from,

one of my old friends a few years back got a job with an Rov company based in aberdeen, but he was shipped off to the philippines, he is based their but still travels where the company tells him to go and still receives his salary from the uk.

with this in thought is this actually possible to get a job from lets say an australian employer but live somewhere else in proximity close to where they operate outside of australia

i know this might sound a tad bit strange but its all relative to my current mind set is lets say ive i got a job in a lesser developed country where my annual wage reflects the local market but is considerably lower to what it would be in the uk or a more developed country.

what im trying to achieve is live somewhere i want to live but taking in an outside wage which would give me a far greater lifestyle than it would by working locally. and would also give me a break every now and then

anyway let me know if its a viable idea or if i should concentrate my efforts on another path.

steve
Old Sep 19th 2010, 1:27 am
BE Enthusiast