Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession
Reload this Page >

Cook TRA declined...somehow!? Help needed.

Cook TRA declined...somehow!? Help needed.

Old Jun 30th 2009, 7:17 am
Just Joined

TerryA is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Cook TRA declined...somehow!? Help needed.

Ok, hi guys.

My girlfriend has worked in the hospitality and catering industry for around 9 years now (she's 25).

- When she was 16 she did a one year college course on basic cookery.
- She then did a 2 year course in hospitality and catering to achieve A levels along with a City and Guilds (the mac daddy of UK qualifications right!?) certificate/qualification.
- She worked as a cook in the UK for 5 years.
- She worked here as a chef and then head chef for almost 4 years, whilst being on a working holiday visa, then a spouse visa (now separated) and now a 457 visa.
- Approved manager of her current employment venue, and holds a Responsible service of alcohol license.

We got our letter through today saying she was unsuccessful and we applied as a COOK! She has worked in the industry for 9 years (38-40 hours a week), starting at the early age of 16 and when she became head chef she had to:

. In charge of four cooks, two kitchen hands
. Ordering of stock
. Designing of menus
. Costing
. Stock rotation
. Preparing and cooking food for a la carte restaurant
. Organising staff rosters
. Maximising kitchen productivity and staff performance in absence of executive chef.

Not only this but she is sponsored as a COOK on a 457 visa at the moment, had an Australian resident trainee apprentice learn under her - how the hell cant she be successful as a COOK through the TRA?

We did not provide them with a statement from her boss but we did provide her work duties, all her certificates and a brief explanation of her on the job training (of which there was no certificate presented at the end).