Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Vonage Update

Vonage Update

Old Feb 4th 2009, 3:08 pm
  #1  
I love Marmite, she don't
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 454
franc111s is a splendid one to beholdfranc111s is a splendid one to beholdfranc111s is a splendid one to beholdfranc111s is a splendid one to beholdfranc111s is a splendid one to beholdfranc111s is a splendid one to beholdfranc111s is a splendid one to beholdfranc111s is a splendid one to beholdfranc111s is a splendid one to beholdfranc111s is a splendid one to beholdfranc111s is a splendid one to behold
Default Vonage Update

Well, as some may remember, I signed up 4 months ago and haven't had any luck, despite numerous support calls. On one where they called me, they couldn't hear me well enough and they called me back on my cell

It still hasn't been fixed. I know a number of you have been saying Vonage is fine for you and you know what, it's probably OK (just) for me. BUT, its definitely not great and sometimes it's just horrible.

A guy from the UK, who is on Vonage called me on my cell phone yesterday and whilst I could just about make out the call, it wasn't great. He called my from his cell to my cell and it was perfect.

Some have reported that ISP's are chopping VOIP band-width so maybe that's it but I'm done. Since we call back on cell phones more than half the time as Vonage just isn't up to snuff. SOmeone told me they got AT&T home line for less than $25 a month so I'm switching back (or just might stay on cell phone). I hate paying more but it is what it is.

I know it's not my network BECAUSE when I use SKYPE from my PC, it's actually BETTER than Vonage in most instances!

Seems I am alone though on this as everyone else loves Vonage!
franc111s is offline  
Old Feb 4th 2009, 3:38 pm
  #2  
Forum Regular
 
carlfarey's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Kissimmee Florida
Posts: 47
carlfarey is a name known to allcarlfarey is a name known to allcarlfarey is a name known to allcarlfarey is a name known to allcarlfarey is a name known to allcarlfarey is a name known to allcarlfarey is a name known to allcarlfarey is a name known to allcarlfarey is a name known to allcarlfarey is a name known to allcarlfarey is a name known to all
Default Re: Vonage Update

Originally Posted by franc111s View Post
Well, as some may remember, I signed up 4 months ago and haven't had any luck, despite numerous support calls. On one where they called me, they couldn't hear me well enough and they called me back on my cell

It still hasn't been fixed. I know a number of you have been saying Vonage is fine for you and you know what, it's probably OK (just) for me. BUT, its definitely not great and sometimes it's just horrible.

A guy from the UK, who is on Vonage called me on my cell phone yesterday and whilst I could just about make out the call, it wasn't great. He called my from his cell to my cell and it was perfect.

Some have reported that ISP's are chopping VOIP band-width so maybe that's it but I'm done. Since we call back on cell phones more than half the time as Vonage just isn't up to snuff. SOmeone told me they got AT&T home line for less than $25 a month so I'm switching back (or just might stay on cell phone). I hate paying more but it is what it is.

I know it's not my network BECAUSE when I use SKYPE from my PC, it's actually BETTER than Vonage in most instances!

Seems I am alone though on this as everyone else loves Vonage!
We have 5 lines on vonage and for the most part they are fine. i take it you have checked your bandwidth allocator on the internet?

good luck.

Carl.
carlfarey is offline  
Old Feb 4th 2009, 7:12 pm
  #3  
Bob
BE Site Lead
 
Bob's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 91,775
Bob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Vonage Update

try lingo?
Bob is offline  
Old Feb 5th 2009, 7:55 pm
  #4  
I love Marmite, she don't
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 454
franc111s is a splendid one to beholdfranc111s is a splendid one to beholdfranc111s is a splendid one to beholdfranc111s is a splendid one to beholdfranc111s is a splendid one to beholdfranc111s is a splendid one to beholdfranc111s is a splendid one to beholdfranc111s is a splendid one to beholdfranc111s is a splendid one to beholdfranc111s is a splendid one to beholdfranc111s is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Vonage Update

Yes 12MBS download and 750k upload. I use slingmedia to the UK and have NO problems and use SKYPE, no problems.

The fact that the person I know in the UK on Vonage called me on my AT&T cell and he was garbled was my final straw in doing any more analysis on my network. This proved it must be Vonage. He has been with them for a while and said the service used to be great but has deteriorated over the last 12 months. I think, given the amount of people signing up, given the economy, it's not surprising. Their own band-width must be under a lot of stress.
franc111s is offline  
Old Feb 6th 2009, 1:44 am
  #5  
Just Joined
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Optophobia is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Vonage Update

When I had vonage it was terrible. Skype works perfectly and is only $10 unlimited USA to UK.
Anyway Vonage customer service is even worse.
So I would just go with something else.
Optophobia is offline  
Old Feb 6th 2009, 4:54 am
  #6  
Never right in the head!
 
Yosser's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,465
Yosser has a reputation beyond reputeYosser has a reputation beyond reputeYosser has a reputation beyond reputeYosser has a reputation beyond reputeYosser has a reputation beyond reputeYosser has a reputation beyond reputeYosser has a reputation beyond reputeYosser has a reputation beyond reputeYosser has a reputation beyond reputeYosser has a reputation beyond reputeYosser has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Vonage Update

How weird, my vonage started playing up about a week ago. I have been trying to make several calls back to England, but all the calls were all of a sudden bloody terrible!

I have had Vonage for about a year, never had a problem. I checked that the vonage box was 4ft away from my router, I have increased my bad width to max, Verizon has given me warped speed fios internet (even the vonage rep, said.....F'kin how fast when he done a line check!) but still the phone calls are shit.

What a bummer, looks like I will have to change to something else....it was a good price at 24.99+tax.

so what else is there?
Yosser is offline  
Old Feb 6th 2009, 2:03 pm
  #7  
In the pink
 
Mallory's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,210
Mallory has a reputation beyond reputeMallory has a reputation beyond reputeMallory has a reputation beyond reputeMallory has a reputation beyond reputeMallory has a reputation beyond reputeMallory has a reputation beyond reputeMallory has a reputation beyond reputeMallory has a reputation beyond reputeMallory has a reputation beyond reputeMallory has a reputation beyond reputeMallory has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Vonage Update

I have an English friend that lives about 100 miles from me. When she calls me on her Vonage phone it goes along okay for a few minutes or so, and then I start getting that echo thing. I can't understand a word she is saying, because my own voice is coming back at me. Terrible reception. I call her on her cell phone, I hate to saying anything about her Vonage. Let someone in the UK tell her.
Mallory is offline  
Old Feb 6th 2009, 2:05 pm
  #8  
Bob
BE Site Lead
 
Bob's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 91,775
Bob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Vonage Update

Originally Posted by Yosser View Post

so what else is there?
http://voip.about.com/od/servicesand...5Providers.htm

Lingo, BroadVoice, Packet8
Bob is offline  
Old Feb 6th 2009, 2:23 pm
  #9  
Never right in the head!
 
Yosser's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,465
Yosser has a reputation beyond reputeYosser has a reputation beyond reputeYosser has a reputation beyond reputeYosser has a reputation beyond reputeYosser has a reputation beyond reputeYosser has a reputation beyond reputeYosser has a reputation beyond reputeYosser has a reputation beyond reputeYosser has a reputation beyond reputeYosser has a reputation beyond reputeYosser has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Vonage Update

Originally Posted by Bob View Post

Thanks Bob, I will look into it.
Yosser is offline  
Old Feb 6th 2009, 9:28 pm
  #10  
Thinking about it
 
BigDavyG's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Mid-West
Posts: 9,435
BigDavyG has a reputation beyond reputeBigDavyG has a reputation beyond reputeBigDavyG has a reputation beyond reputeBigDavyG has a reputation beyond reputeBigDavyG has a reputation beyond reputeBigDavyG has a reputation beyond reputeBigDavyG has a reputation beyond reputeBigDavyG has a reputation beyond reputeBigDavyG has a reputation beyond reputeBigDavyG has a reputation beyond reputeBigDavyG has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Vonage Update

Originally Posted by Yosser View Post
How weird, my vonage started playing up about a week ago. I have been trying to make several calls back to England, but all the calls were all of a sudden bloody terrible!

I have had Vonage for about a year, never had a problem. I checked that the vonage box was 4ft away from my router, I have increased my bad width to max, Verizon has given me warped speed fios internet (even the vonage rep, said.....F'kin how fast when he done a line check!) but still the phone calls are shit.

What a bummer, looks like I will have to change to something else....it was a good price at 24.99+tax.

so what else is there?
That happened to me and it turned out that some twat at vonage had altered a setting on my account - got it sorted out with a quick call.
BigDavyG is offline  
Old Feb 7th 2009, 6:13 pm
  #11  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
Steerpike's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA / Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 9,039
Steerpike has a reputation beyond reputeSteerpike has a reputation beyond reputeSteerpike has a reputation beyond reputeSteerpike has a reputation beyond reputeSteerpike has a reputation beyond reputeSteerpike has a reputation beyond reputeSteerpike has a reputation beyond reputeSteerpike has a reputation beyond reputeSteerpike has a reputation beyond reputeSteerpike has a reputation beyond reputeSteerpike has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Vonage Update

The fact that you can use skype with success does suggest your network connection is good. But make sure it's good at a few different random times during the day - not just one or two quick tests. If skype is consistently good, and vonage is consistently bad, then you have really good evidence that vonage is bad for you.

Be aware that your ISP 'bandwidth' or 'speed' is not the ONLY factor that affects the quality; there is another factor called latency that can kill your voip performance. But again, it should affect vonage and skype in the same manner.

I have vonage at home (in ADDITION to land lines and cell phones) and it's good most of the time, but if I do high quality video streaming, that will really impact the quality.

My advice - get a basic land-line account, with NO long distance, for about $20/month, then use a calling card for all your long distance. That's what I do for most of my calls.
Steerpike is online now  
Old Feb 7th 2009, 11:23 pm
  #12  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Andover, MA
Posts: 250
rew1000 has much to be proud ofrew1000 has much to be proud ofrew1000 has much to be proud ofrew1000 has much to be proud ofrew1000 has much to be proud ofrew1000 has much to be proud ofrew1000 has much to be proud ofrew1000 has much to be proud ofrew1000 has much to be proud ofrew1000 has much to be proud ofrew1000 has much to be proud of
Default Re: Vonage Update

Originally Posted by Bob View Post
We've used Onesuite for years as a calling card-type service and they're pretty good. I noticed they've started a VOIP service (http://www.onesuite.com/products_Broadband_Main.asp) - haven't tried it though...
rew1000 is offline  
Old Feb 9th 2009, 5:23 pm
  #13  
Resident Hambone
 
K2JLX's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: Wurtsboro, NY
Posts: 29
K2JLX has a spectacular aura aboutK2JLX has a spectacular aura aboutK2JLX has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Vonage Update

I've had Vonage for several years now, I have never experienced any outages with the service that weren't caused by the cable company, its a great resource for talking home to UK landlines, that's really why I got it in the first place.
K2JLX is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.