Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

UK /US Tax Treaty and UK Government Pension

UK /US Tax Treaty and UK Government Pension

Old Apr 6th 2022, 1:39 pm
Just Joined

Robert38 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default UK /US Tax Treaty and UK Government Pension

Perhaps somebody can clear up the confusion that exists regarding the UK/US tax treaty. It seems to be interpreted in different ways by different people.

I am a dual UK/US citizen resident of the United States, and I receive a U.S social security pension in addition to a small U.K. state pension. A well-known tax preparation company provides the advice that the UK government state pension is not subject to U.S. income tax based on article 17 of the UK/US tax treaty providing form 8833 is included with the tax return. Also, a Houston tax law firm states- “Distributions from U.K. social security type pensions are taxable only in the U.K.” However, other tax experts claim all income is taxable in the U.S. irrespective of the source.

Can anyone with knowledge of this treaty clear up these conflicting messages?
Old Apr 6th 2022, 2:32 pm

Pulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond reputePulaski has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK /US Tax Treaty and UK Government Pension

Hi Robert, welcome to BE.

The best place to ask such questions would be over on the US forum, and there is in fact a very long thread discussing the question you raised, among many other regarding UK-US taxes on pensions.