Reload this Page >

UK student loans

UK student loans

Old Jan 27th 2015, 12:13 am
Just Joined

rjthomas is an unknown quantity at this point
Default UK student loans

Hello!

This is my first post so I hope I am posting in the right place!

I'm a British citizen, I graduated from university in the UK back in 2005 and moved to the US to do my Masters in 2006. At the time, I genuinely thought that my student loans were repayable only if I was living and earning in the UK (based on nothing but hearsay, to be honest) Now, I see how completely and utterly stupid and naive I was.

My original plan was to study in the US and come back home (and commence loan repayment), but one thing led to another... I got a PhD, married an American citizen, got a job in the US, and I'm now a permanent US resident. I didn't intend for this to be my path, but it's what happened and I'm very happy about how things have turned out!

Now that I have entered the world of work I figured I should look into my British student loans and realized to my horror that yes, I am still responsible for repayment. I don't know why I didn't look into this sooner, and don't know why I presumed that I could avoid it until I returned to the UK, but there we go.

My question is: What do people recommend as the best method to go about repaying them? I have a British bank account, but it is virtually empty, I just never took the time to close it. Transferring sums monthly US to UK would incur a lot of fees. Do people instead advocate lump sum payments? Is the student loans company easy to deal with (keeping in mind this loan has been outstanding for ten years)?

What have people in a similar position done?