Reload this Page >

UK Benefits and Tax whilst in the USA

UK Benefits and Tax whilst in the USA

Old Jul 8th 2018, 4:22 pm
Just Joined

IntrepidBrit is an unknown quantity at this point
Default UK Benefits and Tax whilst in the USA

Hello,

I'm a teacher, and going to be temporarily living in the US for just under 12 months on a J1 Teachers visa. I have children and wife on J2s. I'm just trying to wrap things up here in the UK and wondering about my UK benefits. I'm aware that I need to contact the Tax Office etc. notifying them when we leave. Does anybody know if they'll consider allowing child benefit to run for the kids seen as it's only a temporary relocation? I've had mixed responses.

Also, for my UK earnings in this task year April 2018 until when I leave my current teaching job at the end of August 2018. I will have paid too much tax for the year. When and how will I get that back?

Thanks in advance, I'm sure I'll have many more moving questions...
Old Jul 8th 2018, 4:26 pm
SUPER MODERATOR

christmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond reputechristmasoompa has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: UK Benefits and Tax whilst in the USA

Hi, welcome to BE.

Originally Posted by IntrepidBrit
Does anybody know if they'll consider allowing child benefit to run for the kids seen as it's only a temporary relocation?
Nope. Only certain relocations count, and a year's working in the US doesn't seem to come under any of them. Details here - https://www.gov.uk/child-benefit-abroad