Reload this Page >

Teaching / life in in San Francisco

Teaching / life in in San Francisco

Old Sep 27th 2010, 1:24 pm
Forum Regular

dgandhi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Teaching / life in in San Francisco

Hi there

I joined here as my husband and I are planning a move to the USA (hopefully San Francisco). I am a citizen (though I have never lived in the US) and I am about to file a petition to get my husband a visa.

We both love the US (my husband lived this for a few years whilst he went to university and I have spent time there throughout my life), but we have no set plans about what we will do once we get there!

I want to ask the forum about being able to teach in california (elementary level, public or private). I did my degree at Cambridge (this is now an MA) and I did my PGCE there also. I completed a Montessori diploma and I have 5+ years of teaching experience since qualifying. I have just reached threshold, and my pay is somewhere just below £40K.

I want to ask the forum what I need to do exactly, and what diffucltises I might face. Will I be able to teach in california without doing a million exams.

If I get details of the courses I have done, and get these evaluated, will they be deemed as equivalent and will I be able to get looking for work more speedily.

We are looking to move for a better quality of life rather than to make a lot of money, so I don't necessarily expect I will make as much in SF, but does anyone have any idea of what my experience will be worth? Will I be starting from scratch experience wise, or will my experience be recognized (and paid for accordingly).